Ooey Goey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Sometimes called "Gooey Butter Cake". It is really sweet, so skip this if you don't care for sweet desserts. But it wasn't as heavy as I thought it might be considering the ingredients. It also doesn't have that "cake mix" taste which surprised me. Paula Deen suggests some interesting variations on this recipe, with pumpkin pie filling added to the cream cheese, or crushed pineapple, or lemon or chocolate or mashed bananas. You can doctor up the cream cheese layer many, many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I love this recipe! My mother-in-law always makes this (although she calls them Chess Squares) and it's a huge hit. Now I make it too and always get asked for the recipe. I wanted to make these for some friends but can't find my mother-in-law's cookbook, so I looked on here and found it. I don't know if what I used is 4 cups of conf sugar, I just used a one pound box of conf sugar because I do remember that from her recipe. And I'm actually trying it with chocolate cake mix this time and I think I'll try the blueberry suggestion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Ok, these are great tasting bars! I did cut back on the powdered sugar like the other reviews said, to about 2 1/4 cups, and added 2 Tbls of lemon juice, the fam loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Easy and SOOOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DakotaSMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Be sure to bring copies of this recipe wherever you are serving it! I always get asked for this recipe. It is so quick and easy but tastes like gourmet! More like Blondies then cake. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I was so disappointed. I had read many of the recipes similar to this and thought it sounded wonderful. It was very easy, but ended up just a too sweet, dry brownie-like bar. I had thought it would be more moist and cheesecake-like. I had to be sure to serve it warm to even get it out of the pan. Not 'goey' but pretty ooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This is great, kinds sweet for my taste but my family loved it. I doubled the recipe and made two and took it into work. They loved it as well. I took the advice from another post and added blueberries and cut the sugar in half. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Oh my God this is sweet!!!!!!!!!! My grandparents and the kids all LOVED it but its a tad too sweet for me (and that's saying something). I love it but I can only eat a wee little bit at a time. I have requests to make this again already! Thanks Kenneth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I send in breakfast goodies on the weekends that my husband works and this was today's fare. I changed the recipe to make it a little more "breakfasty" and the staff said this might have been the best thing I sent in during the 6 years that he has worked there!! The changes I made were: putting a layer of blueberry pie filling between the cake layer and the cheese filling, and I decreased the sugar (based on other reviews) to 2/3 cup white sugar. I also added about 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice to the cheese filling and garnished it with lemon zest. I wish I could have tried a piece but my husband said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
C'est Bon!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMS1901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States