Ono Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Everybody loved them. They went very fast at the potluck here in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Excellent! I used 1.5 pound of pork spareribs (just the two of us tonight). Instead of garlic salt I used two fresh garlic cloves, chopped and grated the ginger as well. I heated up the sauce then poured it over the ribs to bake at 325 degrees. I covered the baking pan with foil tightly the first 45 minutes, then turned it over to the other side for another 45 minutes. There was a wonderful aroma filling up my house while the ribs were baking. I sprinkled the ribs with toasted sesame seeds before serving. The meat was tender, not tough, and full of flavor. The sauce itself has a nice balance of slight sweetness with subtle “tang” in each bite. The sauce also baked right into the meat making it so savory, juicy, sticky sweet and finger licking ONOlicious! I did not want to waste the sauce so I reserved it to pour over the ribs and rice. I served with, “Green Bean and Mushroom Medley,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Used this recipe for chicken thighs. It is super. Had some left over that I thinned down a bit and used as a sandwich condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I only had boneless porkchops, I cut these into 1 inch squares and I substituted 1tsp ground ginger for the fresh Cut baking time down to 20 mins each side. Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Justofin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Delicious. Used regular baby back ribs - didn't change a thing except for cooking time of 325 for one hour each side. A great change from the bbq ribs. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was a good marinade that wasn't too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I finally got to try these ribs last night for a potluck we were having. Awesome!!! This is my new favorite rib recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
My husband made these tonight & he said the sauce smelled great when preparing, but we both agree it didn't follow onto the ribs. It was real blah. I ended up putting some BBQ sauce on my meat to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very good. A nice alternative to regular BBQ. Sticky, sweet and tart. The sauce is delicious. I shaved the ginger and used more than called for, because I love ginger - so good! In my oven, next time I will cook at a lower temp for longer. Cook only the amount that will be eaten. While very delicious hot and fresh, these are terrible reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Excellent. Asked the butcher to cut the spareribs twice for bite-size pieces. Perfect - definitely a keeper! So easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States