Ono Butter Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
OMG its so good! And this recipe was so easy. I didnt have any coconut so I left it out. But it was a great simple and tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Wow... liked warm right out of the oven... but I think cooling it or putting in the fridge for a little is much better... Couldn't keep my family's hands out of the pan.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Buack Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Yummy goodness! My family makes these for all of our family get togethers. Very buttery tasting chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Looked beautiful and smelled wonderful, but I ended up with a rubbery, chewy texture. I was looking for plain, non- glutinous rice flour as other reviewers suggested, but I only had one choice of rice flour, and I mistakenly assumed that gluten-free is the same as non-glutinous. It is not! Comparing my result to the other reviews suggests that I unwittingly used glutinous rice flour. I can't be sure, because the package does not specify which type it is. The flavor was so nice that I tried to eat it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Ono! I used coconut milk instead of whole milk. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Prout Cedar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I think I may have overcooked this based on others reviews to cook it longer. It isn't as creamy as I thought it would be but it is good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
posting review to politely correct another posted Mochiko at least in US *IS* glutenous or sweet rice flour. see the following link: http://www.kodafarms.com/blue-star-mochiko-sweet-rice-flour-serving-suggestions/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorna Hopeau
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used SOYMILK vanilla flavored and bourbon Vanilla. Also omitted 1/2 cup sugar & added BLUEBERRIES. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna Hopeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Sooo ono!! I rated it 5 stars with the changes I made. I read previous reviews and decided to do the following changes: 1. Substituted 1x 13.5oz can of coconut milk for 13.5oz of whole milk 2. Used only 2 cups of sugar (and it was still pretty sweet because of the added coco flakes) 3. Baked for 50 minutes, added foil around edges to prevent them from burning, and baked an additional 25 minutes to brown the middle (we loved the crusty parts!). Super simple and super easy but so good!! Just wanted to point out too that although this may seem like the Filipino Bibingka, their difference is that Bibingka is made with glutinous rice flour resulting in a stickier kankanun (dessert), while butter mochi is made with plain rice flour (mochiko), yielding a bready, cake-like dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Aunty's favorite! Make a coconut/no milk version: Replace butter with coconut oil, milk with coconut milk, and use turbinado sugar (less sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States