Onions Baked with Rosemary and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I served this for a big New Year's dinner party. I had several vegetarians attending, so I made it with vegie broth cubes instead of chicken broth. We loved it and my guests obviously enjoyed them as there were none left in the pan or on the plates. I did follow other's suggestions to add a bit more broth and left it covered for the first 1/2 hour of baking. I did peel the onions, and one out of 16 lost its shape, but the others were fine. It is important to pick same size onions and then cut them in half equally to prevent uneven browning. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Fantastic! The aroma fills the house and made everyone hungry before I could get the food on the table. The only thing I did different was to cover the onions for the first 30 minutes - was afraid the liquid would evaporate too quickly. Everyone, including non-loving onion lovers, really enjoyed this dish. Will definitely add it to the Thanksgiving menue. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
What a wonderful recipe! The onions look like flowers on the plate when they are served, and the taste is divine! I served it as part of Thanksgiving dinner, and it was liked by all who tried it. To accommodate the turkey taking up the entire oven, I prebaked the onions to the point in the recipe where the cream is added, put them in the fridge, brought them to room temperature and finished them off in the hot oven with the cream while the turkey rested and we ate our first course. Thank you for this great recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Very tasty and something different! I also was confused about how to cook with skins on, so I just took them off and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
These were delicious! Although the cooking time is long, they are very easy to do. I halved the recipe; used a deep-ish, smaller baking dish and had no problem with the volume of liquid (or splattering). I had no fresh rosemary, so I used dried. Fantastic! The skins and tops brown nicely and make a beautiful presentation. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was excellent! I'm not very big on onions, I like them, but don't love them. But after seeing all the great reviews, I decided to try them. And they were AWESOME! I loved the sauce they were in. I served this with steak and potatoes (and this mixed very well with the potatoes.. the sauce was great on them). Everyone really loved them, and even my boyfriend (who despises onions) found them to be good. I will definitely make this again. The amount of time it takes to cook this is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PROV31WANB
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I loved this as a part of our Christmas dinner. The tender onions and Rosemary flavor was so delicious. I had enough leftovers to use in quiche and then I combined it with Roasted Vegetables to make a soup as well. I will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was amazing! I got compliments on the presentation, as the browned tops and rosemary on top looked lovely. The rosemary tasted great and the rich flavor of the cream throughout the baked onion made it taste absolutely wonderful. I am just a beginner when it comes to cooking, but this was easy enough to make and I am looking forward to making this tasty dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These are fabulous!! I serve them with broiled steak. Another recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I love this recipe! This last time I made it I added some white wine to the broth (about 1/4 cup) and some sliced Swiss or Havarti on top. YUM! The recipe is great and totally versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States