Onions Baked with Rosemary and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I tried this one out on myself before I decided to make it for company. I found out that dried rosemary is not a good idea. I've never used fresh rosemary before, but I'll definatly try this next time! To answer the other poster's question, I found that the skins dried and were easy to remove with a fork once they were done. I will definately make this again though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
It was nothing special. Not much flavor to them. Probably not going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
woderfull dish, good side dish to my grandfathers ideal of pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This dish is wonderful! I did make a couple of changes the second time I made it by increasing the heavy cream/chicken broth alittle and covering it the first 30 minutes as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
These were delicious! Although the cooking time is long, they are very easy to do. I halved the recipe; used a deep-ish, smaller baking dish and had no problem with the volume of liquid (or splattering). I had no fresh rosemary, so I used dried. Fantastic! The skins and tops brown nicely and make a beautiful presentation. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I served this for a big New Year's dinner party. I had several vegetarians attending, so I made it with vegie broth cubes instead of chicken broth. We loved it and my guests obviously enjoyed them as there were none left in the pan or on the plates. I did follow other's suggestions to add a bit more broth and left it covered for the first 1/2 hour of baking. I did peel the onions, and one out of 16 lost its shape, but the others were fine. It is important to pick same size onions and then cut them in half equally to prevent uneven browning. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was excellent! I'm not very big on onions, I like them, but don't love them. But after seeing all the great reviews, I decided to try them. And they were AWESOME! I loved the sauce they were in. I served this with steak and potatoes (and this mixed very well with the potatoes.. the sauce was great on them). Everyone really loved them, and even my boyfriend (who despises onions) found them to be good. I will definitely make this again. The amount of time it takes to cook this is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was so good and so easy and the presentation is great. The only problem I had was that the chicken broth did evaporate so there wasn't any sauce. I just added the cream as suggested and hoped for the best. It was fine but I will add a lot more broth the next time or cover it for most of the time as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
The onions were definitely tender and this is a good method for cooking them (and then using them in something else), but not a good side dish unless you LOVE onion. The flavor added from the other ingredients was not as powerful as I was hoping. Now I have to make a ton of other dishes to use up all of the leftover onion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
this is great, I made it for a dinner at my daughter's house, she wouldn't let me bring home the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States