Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I made these into little tartlets for a party appetizer. I cut the pie crust into little circles with a cookie cutter, and pressed them into my muffin pan. I put the sauteed onions in the cups and poured the egg to about half-full. I put the crumbled bacon on top before baking. They were really delicious. Everybody asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was amazingly easy and tasty. I had 2 bunches of leeks I needed to get rid of, so I used them as well. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I made this tart for two people - both of whom had never eaten an onion tart. Each said it tasted good and wasn't too onion-y as one might expect from eating a bunch of onions in a pie crust. (Even my three-year-old ate a sizeable piece of this.) One commented that he might like to have more bacon in the recipe (but that might be because was was inclined toward more meat in a dish). As for the recipe, I was concerned that there wasn't enough egg (I think I was expecting something more quiche-like), but in the end, everything seemed to go together quite well - meaning this recipe works. If you like onion tart, I think this recipe will suit you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Lovely sinple recipe that I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very tasty but a more work than the recipe implies. Between frying the bacon, sauteeing the onions (you will want them almost carmelized, so it takes around 30 minutes), pre-baking the shell and everything, this recipe takes a few hours. The first time I made this, I took one of the previous reviwers suggestions and cut the pie crusts into little tartlets and pressed into muffin pans. If you do this, use non-stick spray, as 1/2 of mine broke apart trying to extract them from the pan. I also used one extra egg since mine were very small, but I think you should stick to 2 small eggs or the tart won't be flat enough. (It is not supposed to be fluffy like a quiche.) And I wasn't sure how much of the mixture to put in the shell either; I'm guessing 1/2 full. Also, if you don't want your pie shell to be too moist/soft, prick the shell on the sides and bottom before baking, and brush a light egg wash on before pre-cooking it. Finally, I suggest slicing your onions very thin, and use the sweet yellow variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
i was told how to make this tart except the one change was to use a variety of onions--red, sweet, green, shallot, leek etc---and to always make sure to include a sweet onion--also to add a little shredded cheese--swiss or parmasan would be good i think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Bacon! I hadn't thought of adding that... YET! Here's another version of what you have here. But next time, I will DEFINITELY be adding bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Delicious, simple, and quick! I used Walla Walla sweet onions, and sauteed them until they were caramelized. I left off the bacon, but next time, I think I'll make a bacon and mushroom topping to put on after the pie is baked, for those who want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This really didn’t fill up the pie shell…maybe one more onion and an additional egg??? I cooked for an additional 5 minutes, and I think another 5 may have been even better. The recipe writer really gives you no idea what to look for as far as doneness; i.e., golden brown, knife inserted in the center comes out clean, etc., just to cook for approximately 20 minutes. The garnish of the crumbled bacon seemed a little odd to me. If I make this again, I’ll mix the crumbled bacon into the onion-egg mixture. On the positive side, it does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I ended up melting the butter separate and whisking it with the eggs. I used 5 eggs and could have used 6. If I make it again I will add it bacon in the egg mixture. I also added some leftover fondue cheese I had in the fridge. This recipe has the potential to be excellent but it needs improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

All about Onion Powder

Discover the many benefits of having onion powder on hand.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States