Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This recipe was a life-saver and it exceeded expectations! Nothing like being in the middle of a recipe and realizing we're out of a prime ingredient (my husband's one-of-a-kind salisbury steak). I omitted the salt because the beef base was salty enough. We will NEVER buy that stuff in the box again. Love, love love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Easy to make gluten free version and mamakitty is right - much cheaper and more convenient. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I was looking for a dried onion and mushroom soup base. As suggested by others, I put all of my ingredients in my small 2 cup sized food processor and ground it to a fine powder. In addition to the above recipe, I added 1/4 cup of dried mushrooms which I ground up with the rest of the onion soup mix. It turned out great. I use this when I am making beef stew or cube steaks. It truly is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Perfect! I won't buy packages again. Kinda hard to crush the whole bouillon cube-I was surprised. Lol. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
So easy and very tasty! I used beef bouillon granules since I prefer those. I also have this mini food processor which I added everything in and pulsed a few seconds to make it finer. This recipe equals 1 envelope of the dry onion soup mix you buy at the store. I know it wasn't mentioned on the instructions so I thought I'd mention it. You can use onion soup mix in a lot of things! Roasted potatoes won out this time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I never knew it could be so easy and simple to make my own onion soup mix. I had everything I needed already on hand. I will never need to buy those mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This works very well. Actually tastes more oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Amazing!! Better than the name brand!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Ramaker
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I was in the middle of loading my crockpot and realized I didn't have a packet of onion soup mix. Very glad I found this recipe! I was able to pull it together--My crockpot dinner turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I saw a comment that stated this recipe was not as salty as the package, but for us it was the other way around. Even so, it worked just as great in sour cream for chip dip as the packet. For us though, I'll leave out the additional salt next time. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States