Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious soup! I've made it twice now. One time as called for with chicken stock and the other with beef stock. We preferred it with beef stock but it's good both ways. Also, the second time we made it we added a little more port and it was sensational. Thanks for the recipe. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
A really good recipe and easy to make your own! I use a little less than 2 quarts stock to keep the flavor really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. If you are looking for a rich, beefy, salty french onion, STOP, this is not your soup. This is light, fresh and very delicious. Followed the directins to a "T". I used prepared croutons on top, love getting that easy bite of bread with every bite. Thanks for an easy and delicious potage d' oignon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was amazing. I subbed beef stock for the chicken. Also used some sliced swiss in addition to the cheese called for. I didn't have any port so I subbed more of the white wine. I am a vegetarian, but I made an exception for this soup since my grandpa requested it. I'll try it again with veggie stock soon. Superior to restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellent! I was a little worried about using chicken broth instead of beef, but was really happy with the way this turned out. I used a combination of mozzerella and parmesan as I didn't have Gruyere. I also added a little fresh parsley. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Good general recipe, however, I did not feel that chicken stock was appropriate for french onion soup. I used beef stock instead and also added a bit of sugar to the onions to help carmalize. Soup turned out very tasty and the family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe was wonderful! I followed the directions and cook times exactly, the only substitution was that I used 1 quart vegetable stock and 1 quart chicken stock, which complimented the flavor I thought. I have never made any kind of soup before, but since my bf and I both love French Onion soup, and this seemed so easy I decided to give it a shot. So glad I did, it was the highlight of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Absolutely delicious...worth the time. (It took me at least twice as long to cook the onions.) I loved the addition of bay and fresh thyme, which I had not put into french onion soup before. It's worth splurging on a very good cheese for this recipe. On to the inevitable substitutions. I did not have the port so I increased the amount on white wine. I wasn't confident my bowls could be put under the broiler, so I baked mine at 375 degrees for 15 minutes with fabulous results. Thanks, Phil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States