Onion Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very Very good onion sauce. Anyone who enjoys the taste of onions will want to make this. Works well for any dish that could use a little tweaking or to add moisture to a dry meat. As far as adding calories goes, I'm sure one slice of rye to a entire recipe of onion sauce and then use a portion of it to your dish wouldn't add many calories if you think about it.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William H. Wiersema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This turned out pretty good. Left out the bread and poured over pork roast in slower cooker all day. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Rye bread turns out soggy (sp?) and adds too many calories to the meat. Thanks anyway. Love rye bread, just did not work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Fabulous sauce that my DH proclaimed to be outstanding. I chose to use a dark bread and served this over pork chops. For the reviewer who said the bread became soggy obviously did not read thru the instructions correctly as the bread becomes a part of the sauce; hence the reason for running it thru the food processor. Thank you Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Soggy? What?? Sauce is soggy. Bread is put through the food blender. Of course it is going to be soggy. It is sauce. Reminds me somehow of German Style cooking. I don't know why. But yummy. Bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellant onion sauce made exactly as written! I was looking for a sauce to serve over grilled hamburger patties something to compliment the cabbage soup we were having the sauce was light and flavorful, served sourdough crusty chewy bread rolls to mop up the left over sauce! A fast easy dinner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Excellent sauce recipe. I served it on the side to accompany our crown Roast. Guests really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made it as directed but left out the rye. It was good. I don't understand that people post that it is soggy, isn't it supposed to be a sauce as in the title "Onion sauce" not onion crunchy..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I didn't have a food processor / blender available, so I left onions as is. I also used white bread and a pinch of flour. Final product was outstanding. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Did not like at all too soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States