Onion Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This is a great way to make salmon, but I modify the recipe a bit. It comes out very moist. I add lemon slices and some fresh rosemary. I also brush a little olive oil on the skin side and on top, before I add anything. I seal the foil, and it comes out juicier. You can cook in the oven as well, but cook at 400 degrees for about 20-25 minutes, and seal the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I layed down a piece of foil and drizzled some olive oil and lemon juice on it, then put onion slices and minced garlic on the olive oil. I layed the fish on top of that, stuffed some fresh herbs and more garlic inside the fish, then drizzled the top of the fish with some more olive oil and onions. I barbequed it for about 20 minutes, it came out spectacular! I served it with tarter sauce, a fresh salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This is really good! Although the fish turned out a little dry. I would add some butter to the salmon. The onions gave the fish a really nice taste! I used sweet onions (Vidalias). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've had this a few times and liked it for its simplicity I tried something completely different and it turned out amazing.I placed the onion rings on top, seasoned with garlic power, salt, freshly ground black pepper and squeezed some fresh lemon on top. Wrapped it up completely, sealing the top and put it in a 400C oven for 20mins. After 20mins I opened up the foil and poured in a bit of red cooking wine. Cooked for another 10 minutes It came out very moist and flavorful. Bonus: Caramelize some onion, mix it with the cooked salmon and add a tablespoon of low-fat mayo. Mix it together, spoon onto bread of your choosing and ENJOY however you please. Ketchup for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
note: this review reflects using a lot of the suggestions, not the basic recipe. i did this in the oven as suggested, and i also added olive oil and lemon juice. it came out pretty well! needed some salt though, and i'm guessing it would need it even when making the recipe exactly as the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a very bland dish.There are many delicious and easy recipes for salmon on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is the first time I have truly enjoyed salmon. It was delicious! I definately recommend this very basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Never been a fish person. i am pregnant and craved salmon. tried and loved it. have passd it on to friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This was very good. The only think I added was butter and lemon juice to the salmon before grilling. I also added more lemon juice and chopped fresh parsley to salmon before serving. I also had Bernaise sauce on the side. Delicious. !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kattigan
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I've tried this recipe twice; AS IS WITH NO CHANGES: I found the flavor to be very bland. The salmon required a lot of seasoning at the table. (lemon juice and salt) FOLLOWING SUGGESTIONS: Delicious! I squeezed fresh lemon juice into a bowl and added virgin olive oil. Brushed this mixture on the fillet. (saving extra for later) Placed the fillet on tin foil and formed the pocket around it. Then sprinkled with salt and pepper. Added freshly crushed garlic, sliced onion rounds, and placed lemon slices on top of the onion. Poured the excess mixture of lemon juice and olive oil over the seasoned fillet and placed on a preheated grill at medium-high heat for exactly 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States