Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
450 is way too hot for this. The onions burned before the potatoes began to cook. Next time will put the oven on 350 and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe that's a welcome change from all the typical sugary sweet potato recipes! I cut the recipe in half and used olive oil vs. veg. oil. I also left the skin on the potatoes. This was so easy, yet so tasty! I cut back on the cooking time - more like 30 minutes and tossed this a couple of times during cooking. I would definitly make this again and perhaps do a combination of russet and sweet potaotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I just made and served this for supper - I reduced the recipe to make just one sweet potato and I love it! You still get the sweet of the potatoes, but with the savoury of the onion soup mix - delicious. My soup mix was a Knorr Lipton Onion Roasted Garlic. My only note is that my potatoes were just a smidgen over done at 30 minutes so if you make this, make sure you check them at the 20 to 25 mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is an easy, yummy recipe! I added a dash of chipotle pepper and garlic powder as we like a bit of 'zip'. I would have given it the extra star, except I followed the baking instructions for 450F - set my timer for 40 mins to be on the cautious side and burned nearly all of it. What wasn't burnt was very tasty! Will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I just made these tonight and they're delish! I cut my potatoes in to 1" cubes and it only took about 35 minutes at 400. I used 1 package of soup mix because that's all I had and only used about 1/4 cup of olive oil. Next time I'm going to try this with a home made soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaMustEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Not too bad...definitely will reduce the amount of oil next time (I used EVOO) and cut the baking time to 30 minutes. Will make again - was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Everyone LOVED it! Typically, we have the sweet version of sweet potatoes (either the canned baked with marshmallows and brown sugar or slightly friend with corn flakes). I wanted to do something different. I used 4 sweet potatoes and 1 pack of soup mix (because that is what I had) and it turned out great. Great flavor, soft sweet potatoes (baked at 400 for about an hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good but cook time is too long at least at the size I cut my potatoes as they got a bit burned. I'd probably lower the temp and think like 35-40min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was super yummy! I overcooked them a little but my picky husband said this was the best vegetable he had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
A fantastic way to do sweet potatoes. I did keep the soup mix to a minimum. I used about half of what the recipe called for and used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States