Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
good alternative; nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Excellent flavor! Cooked at 400 for 40 min and stirred once while baking per other suggestions, and they came out golden and caramelized. I made my own dry onion soup mix (1once= 8Tbls dried onion flakes, 4 tea bouillon granules, 1 tea onion or garlic powder, 1/4 tea seasoned pepper). Also, I substituted half of the sweet potatoes with cauliflower, and I had some green scallions from my garden that I chopped and added to the mixture before baking. This gave a nice contrast of color and texture. Fair warning: Don't make this if you are worried about onion breath :)...at least not the way I did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This is one of the better ways I have had of eating sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplynewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Titus, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Simple and delicious! I used a small amount of olive oil and covered with tin foil. Turned out wonderful! Thank you Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was great! I also added baby carrots because I wanted to roast carrots anyway. It was delicious and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
At the last minute on Thanksgiving, I ran to the store for sweet potatoes and made this. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. What a great quick, delicious side dish! I used 4 lbs of sweet potatoes but didn't change the amount of soup mix or oil and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swissmissus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I didn't have onion mix on hand so I diced up actual onion and tossed that with the sweet potatoes. Turned out great! I did add a tablespoon of maple syrup at the end because I just couldn't resist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmkendall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made it for another side last night for family Thanksgiving (Canadian) and they all loved it - nice change from the casserole I usually make. Added 1 quartered onion and a few strips of red bell pepper for colour and extra flavour. Had no trouble with anything burning because I had it in the oven on the top shelf above the turkey, so it was really long and slow, just stirred it all up once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I LOVE LOVE LOVE these. even a non sweet potato fan would like these I think. I did mine in the microwave. I cooked on high for a couple min, let them sit. then repeated that till they were done. amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. For those having issues with burnt onion flakes cover loosely with aluminum foil halfway through. Cooking times will vary depending on the size of your chunks, test with fork until desired doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States