Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wow, these were really good. I did use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and only baked for 35 minutes at 400...it really just depends on how large your pieces are... Hubby can't wait to have these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The flavor of these is outstanding, BUT 40 to 50 minutes of baking time is way too long. If the sweet potatoes are "diced," they will probably be done in 10 to 15 minutes. I checked mine at 20 min., and they were already burned. Also, I recommend greasing the pan, even though the potatoes themselves are oiled. Then again, if you stir the potatoes a few times during baking, they would be less prone to sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Unfortunately I cut the pieces too small and ended up burning my first batch. Once they were bigger it all came out beautifully. Great alternative for regular potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these for thanksgiving but oh my gosh they were sooooo good and easy, I can't wait to make them again!! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
LOVED these! Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We loved the taste of these. I cut back on the onion soup, due to the saltiness, and it was perfect. You do have to keep an eye on them, I did flip them, and some still burned. I think the easier way to do this is to roast the sweet potatoes, then make it into a mash with the other ingredients. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very easy and super delicious! I did use EVOO instead of vegetable oil and baked for about 25 minutes at 400F. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I didn't care for these at all. I made the recipe exactly and no one at my Thanksgiving liked the onion/sweet mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it ws the only leftover that I actually looked forward to eating. 2 weeks later I was hankering for it again so I made it last night. My boyfriend and 8 year old daughter were literally fighting over the bowl of them, that's how much they love this recipe. This is especially noteworthy because my boyfriend previously claimed to dislike sweet potatoes. Easy and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States