Onion Roasted Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very good recipe for when you're in a pinch and need to throw together the potatoes quickly or a lot for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I combined yams, sweet pototoes & white pototoes & parboiled them until the water just boiled. Combined the onion mix with the oil & then mixed it all together & roasted. The dish was a hit. Thank you. I might try it with root vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Easy & really good! Made as recipe specified and these potatoes vanished quickly. A wonderful savory alternative to traditional sweet potato casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Without question, one of my favorite sweet potato preparations! I don't care how traditional the marshmallow mess is, I can't deal:) I find that the soup mix does crisp quite a bit, but I like the texture. Can also be avoided by taking extra care during the mixing step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Nice twist on a classic favorite. May try with a little cayenne next time for a surprise kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Yum, loved it. Used olive oil in place of veg oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made these as fries with olive oil - one batch at 350 another at 400. My guests loved them! The ones at 400 turned out better. I had to micro the potatoes for a minute so I could push them through the slicer. Baked them around 30 minutes. A packet of seasoning to 3 potatoes is about right. I would recommend flipping them every 10 minutes to keep them from sticking. I thought they were yummy with ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was so yummy! I turned the heat down to 425 degrees as others had stated that their onions burned. I baked for 40 minutes and it turned out perfectly. (Oh, I also halved the recipe, cause I was only cooking for 2 . . . used about 3 large sweet potatoes and 1 pkg. onion soup). I would definately make this again, the potatoes were tender but a little crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
All of our family liked the change the onion soup mix made to sweet potatoes. Have made it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
The 10yo ate piles and piles of this. I found the onion soup mix a bit off-putting, but that's because it tastes like a mix. A great easy way to serve sweet potatoes. And it doesn't take so long to make them if you cut them smaller and put on the top rack. I had to turn it down because they cooked too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States