Onion-Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is one of my favorite ways to oven-roast potatoes. I use my own homemade onion soup mix and sometimes I like to throw in either fresh minced garlic or garlic powder and a little fresh ground pepper. This also works on the grill, just stick your potato mixture inside a foil "packet" and grill for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
So good! And so easy! I didn't use two types of potatoes because we wanted both potatoes and carrots roasted, so I subbed the sweet potatoes for carrots. We put them around a pork loin roast, did them for the time specified and OMG...mouthwateringly (if that's a word) awesome! Will make again, and although my kids refused to try them, my husband and I ate the entire pan! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is a nice simple roasted potato recipe. I used much less EVOO, 2 TBSP and used a packet of Knorr's French Onion Soup mix. One of the ONLY foods Mr. LTH doesn't care for is sweet potatoes, but he ate them (and even didn't hate them) in this. I found myself preferring the sweet potato chunks! THANKS for the recipe, CARAMOMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe more times than I can count! The only difference is that I only use regular potatoes and not sweet potatoes. This is so quick to throw together, and tastes great too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Very good. Very easy. Made just as it is stated. Will double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've been making this for years and it's a family favorite. I've never used sweet potatoes but may try that next time. You can easily double or triple the recipe for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I accidentally put a pack of italian dressing mix in then realized I grabbed the wrong pack. So what could I do...the deed was done. I just added onion soup mix to the batch too. My family went wild. They said I have to do this again. So what are we having tonight? Yep we are having my Uh-Oh Potatoes...go figure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The man friend was complimentary, said they are fabulous and we have to have them again!!! He loved the "little crunchies" as he called them. And NO OTHER recipe has been this EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Oh my this was so so good! tasted like perfectly carmelized onions with potatoes and oh so EASY! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I make these with just straight regular potatoes (red potatoes), about 2 lb. Have never tried with the sweet potatoes but interested in giving it a try. I have discovered that if I peel the potatoes before roasting, they tend to fall apart more and leave more of a mess in the pan. I line the pan with foil to help with clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Muffin Tin Potatoes Gratin

Quick and easy individual au gratin potatoes prepared in a muffin tin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States