Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
So easy to make & so good to eat! This dish was risotto-like and peppery (due to the fresh ground pepper - a necessary addition). This dish was done so quickly that we were eating it out of the saute pan while waiting for the chicken to finish cooking. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I make rice several times a week, and am always looking for interesting items to add to it. My teens both loved this and commented that it was "great rice". This is a keeper, I think it gets its flavor from the red onions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This was SO surprisingly good! My friend and I were looking for a simple rice side dish that we could make from ingredients we had in the house and voila! This served right up and we love it! It's so deceptively simple; it has great taste and is a perfect complement to any meal! Kudos Denyse! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2001
I made it with vidalia onions and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Excellent blend of onion, pepper & rice. A taste thrill!!! My husband said SAVE THIS ONE FOR COMPANY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I used two cups of rice, four of broth and only 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. Also sprinkled a little thyme. My family says it's the "ultimate". Of course I had leftovers, which were just as good the next day. Thankyou for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I used beef cubes and served as a side with beef. Everyone really got exceited about it, and my 3 and 9 year old had seconds. Red onions are sweet and less potant than regular onions so it lightly flavors the rice, it's not overpowering. This would be a great substitution for the expensive boxed rice at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
What a great recipe!!! I added a bit more ground pepper and the taste was fabulous. Very easy to prepare. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Hey Denyse, great recipe!! My kids adore rice no matter how I make it, but they really flipped over this. Hubby, who normally doesn't care for rice, loved it too! Once my onions were just about done, I stirred in basmati rice and let it brown a bit. The onions and the broth really gave this side a very nice flavor. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Sniffing around reviews, I came up with a twist. Use brown rice,beef boulion and atad of Jalipino and serve with beef or venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States