Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
As I started to make this recipe I realized I didn't have onions on hand. After looking through the cupboard, I narrowed down the choices to an envelope of Liptons dried soup mix and a can of French Onion Soup. FOS won out.... Pureed the onions in the soup and then added chicken broth to make up the difference in liquid. Wonderful with substitutions ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This will be going into our regular meal rotation! I used a yellow onion (all I had - I rarely buy red) and sauteed it in half butter, half olive oil, and cut back on the pepper, to 1/4-1/2 tsp (I just grind it in). Delicious! It's a very flexible recipe provided you stay within the 1:2 rice:water ratio. We also like to add a bit of minced garlic just before adding the broth. Editing to add sometimes it takes a little longer than 20 minutes (I find it takes 25-30). Using equal portions of onion and rice (ie. 1 cup of raw onion, 1 cup of uncooked rice) seems to offer the perfect ratio (for us). Also very good if you let the onions turn translucent prior to adding the rice so they brown a bit while you "toast" the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Our whole family loved this! I used olive oil instead of butter for sauteeing and added a clove of minced garlic to the onion, which was yellow. Basmati rice worked well for this, and I browned it with the oil and onion for a few minutes. I added parsley, thyme, and basil and increased the broth to 2 cups. Just a few grinds of pepper was all it needed. Try grating in a few baby carrots to give it a nice color. I'll make this again, probably adding almonds or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was pleasant and subtle - I'd call it a nice, basic "recipe" for beginner cooks. Still, it is only rice, cooked in broth rather than water, with onions added. I would strongly suggest against the full amount of pepper called for and simply add it to taste. Great to serve as support for a stronger main dish, where you wouldn't want flavors to compete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Awesome! I used 1/2 package dry onion soup mix along with the chicken broth. I only had plain onion on hand, so I used one small one chopped. I loved this rice! My husband like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was good. I didn't realize that I had no chicken broth in the house, so I had to use a can of condensed beef broth, mixed with water to make 2 cups. I loved the onions, and might even add more next time. I used fresh ground pepper and don't think I put a whole teaspoon in. It was still a little too peppery. I used brown rice and just increased the simmer time to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Excellent blend of onion, pepper & rice. A taste thrill!!! My husband said SAVE THIS ONE FOR COMPANY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This is a really good and simple side dish. Like another said add pepper to taste but other than that great as written but also goes well with yellow onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I get compliments every time I make this. I use vegetable broth since I don't eat chicken. Only one note, keep a little extra broth to hand, I found the rice nearly dry after 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Good and healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Hubbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States