Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I tried it with brown rice/wild rice mix and it was pretty good although I had to cook for 60 minutes and put an extra 1/4 cup of water/chicken. Will make again, but probably add tiny dice of carrots, and peas to give it more textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma O'Meara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was bland, but a nice base to work off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is a good basic recipe but it does need a lot of additional seasoning and tweaking to make it a five star recipe. I'll use it as a base recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Tasty but way too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This rice was great! I used only 1/2 of the red onion and added garlic when I added the chicken broth. I believe next time I will add a little more broth because it seemed to be drying out faster than it was cooking. This is a great alternative to prepared boxed rice and has great flavor. Will be making again. Had this with roasted chicken and sauteed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
It was good but lacked a lil in flavor,,,next I would add more onion and also add garlic and possible some mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coronagirl0828

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Good and easy side dish. I used brown rice, which worked fine. Next time I will try the onion soup mix with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My daughter who doesn't like onions liked this. I did use instant rice and it turned out great (needed it done quicker). I didn't fry the rice- after sauteing the onion I added the broth, got it to boil then added the rice, took it off the heat and covered it. I also used sweet white onion as I was worried the red onion might not look as nice. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Simple and easy to make, rice dish. Followed the recipe exactly although it did take an extra 10 minutes to get the rice cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
very delicious, and very easy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States