Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a mild flavored rice that would be a great side dish with just about anything. I only used a third of a large Texas sweet onion and used a little more oil than called for because as soon as the onion was translucent I added the dry rice in and cooked it until it was starting to turn light golden, then I added a dab of minced garlic stirred it in and cooked for less than a minute and finally added in the broth. I forgot the black pepper but it didn't need it after all. Definitely a wonderful rice recipe and I will be making this again. Thanks Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Who gets excited about rice??? We did! This very simple recipe yields amazingly flavorful rice. I doubled it so I would have leftovers and barely got a first portion. I used jasmine rice, my own chicken stock, and a vidalia onion rather than red. This recipe will be repeated many more times, both in my kitchen and in those of my guests. Thanks, Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wow, this was good. This rice is talked about all the time on the Buzz so I had to try it. I couldn't imagine what all the fuss was about but was I wrong! This rice is amazing! I cooked the onion down until it was just getting browned and crispy around the edges. I did not add any pepper and can't imagine what a whole teaspoon would taste like. This one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is a very good side dish for those nights that you want or need to keep it simple. I used brown rice and added mushrooms and some sesame oil along with a bit of soy sauce the second time I made it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Pretty good. Mild flavor. The red onion brings a touch of sweet to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
this we thought was a little bland and will try next time adding different seasonings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I used butter and it turned out really good... it reminded my of rice-a-roni only better.. very heavy on the black pepper so if you don't like that I would advice cutting back on it.. but I liked it so for me it was good. very easy to make.... a nice change of pace from just plain rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Excellent! Basmati rice makes it the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Easy to make very flavorful. Whole family loved this rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I tried it with brown rice/wild rice mix and it was pretty good although I had to cook for 60 minutes and put an extra 1/4 cup of water/chicken. Will make again, but probably add tiny dice of carrots, and peas to give it more textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma O'Meara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States