Onion Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I recommend that you use LONG grain rice and increase the liquid to 2 cups. The ratio should be 1 part rice to 2 parts liquid for long grained rice. I also added mixed vegetables (SEE MY PHOTO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
To tell the truth, I cheated by cooking it in the rice cooker. First I dumped the rice in. Next I poured in the chicken broth and onions. I melted the butter in the microwave and mixed it into the rice cooker as well (I melted it so it would get evenly distributed)... Then set to cook. Turned out fine that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is a great base recipe. I used regular rice, added some garlic, finely diced carrot and some fresh mushrooms. I will definately be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Good rice, I added diced carrots, celery and green beens with the onions. A nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I love this basic recipe. I have used it as is and have also added some extras (Like Minced broccoli) depending on the main course. It is perfect when you need a bed of rice for salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Good simple recipe for a rice side dish. I used brown rice, increased the broth to two cups, and used a whole small onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Loved this! I added carrots and an extra 1/2 can chicken broth!! Perfect with Lemon Garlic Talapia which is also on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonesouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Nice recipe! Didn't have any chicken broth in the house, so I used a can of french onion soup. I used Basmati rice and browned it in a bit of olive oil to bring out it's natural nuttiness. Kids and hubby loved this side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I added sliced raw almonds to this dish. Suppose you could add toasted almonds also. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very good! I'll be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States