Onion Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
We really enjoyed this! I used regular long grain rice (that's what I had on hand), which I toasted slightly along w/ the onions, and upped the chicken broth to 2 cups (only needed to cook about 20 mins.). Nice, simple side, and one that I will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Followed the recipe as written, except for adding a can of mushrooms because I love mushrooms. Turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made as directed. FANTASTIC. WILL make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Add onion powder, garlic, or onion soup along with beef or chicken broth. Depends on what your main course is. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avilla, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Just the sort of basic rice with just a little pizzazz I was after. Since I wasn't convinced making a special purchase of calrose rice was critical to the success of this recipe, I simply used common long grain converted rice. This is lightly flavored which was exactly what I wanted so as not to compete with my main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was a great base for pilaf but it seemed like something was missing. There was salt in the chicken broth so it wasn't salt. I tried to add a little garlic powder but that didn't cut it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Very good. Very easy! My kids loved it and the leftovers are so useful. Better then plain rice any day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I don't normally alter a recipe until I try it as first written, however, I did this time. I had some green onions I needed to use and so I used them instead of regular chopped onion. I also added a handful of chopped walnuts and browned the onion, rice and walnuts in the butter. I then added my broth and simmered until the rice was done. I will make this again but I think I'll use pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was a quick, easy and tasty side dish. I used long grain rice w/2 cups chicken broth and added some chopped green pepper and carrots too. Thank you~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was a solid base. 30 mins is too long though. The rice was sticking after that time. I guess if I add 1/2 cup more of broth it should be fine. I'll add some more stuff next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States