Onion Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
So simple and delicious. I used milk in place of the cream because I didn't have any but kept everything else the same. Turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Simple and delicious. The first time I made it, I thought it was a little dense, so the next time, I put in 1/2 tsp baking powder and it came out beautifully. Vidalia onions were perfect and herbs de Province made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENDEIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I love to cook but time is not on my side. This was easy & quick. Used 4 eggs, added ground pepper & salt to taste, and some real bacon bits. Also, Vidalia onion was the clincher to make this a quiche to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a great basic quiche ratio. I chopped and roasted a red onion with a little spinach and poultry seasoning. I used 1/2 cup shredded cheddar, and crumbled some goat cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made so many changes that I'm not sure it's fair to rate this recipe, but here's my feedback in case it's helpful. To reduce calories/fat, I baked this without a crust. I used 5 eggs as recommended by others. I completely changed the other ingredients--used sauteed mushrooms and spinach, feta cheese, diced kalamata olives, balsamic onions (Barefoot Contessa brand), garlic powder, pepper, paprika, and half 'n half instead of cream. I baked this concoction in a glass pie plate at 350 for 30 minutes. It turned out very well (hubby just devoured it and asked me to make another one). I agree with other reviewers who comment that this is a great base recipe upon which it's easy to build whatever quiche you want. The ratio of eggs to dairy is perfect if you use 5 eggs and 1/2 cup milk/cream. This was a great way to use up ingredients that were in the fridge! Next time I might try using Egg Beaters to reduce the fat further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I wasn't expecting much from this recipe, but I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand and wanted to use them up. I was pleasantly surprised, this turned out fantastic! Based on the other reviews, I did use the equivalent of 4 eggs (actually, 1 cup of Better N Eggs to lower the fat content) and 3/4 cup reduced fat Swiss cheese. I also cooked 5 strips of Morningstar 'fakin' bacon' and crumbled that up and sprinkled it on top of the onions, which I layered in a whole wheat frozen pie crust (pre-baked for 10 minutes at 450 since I like a crisp crust). Then I poured the egg and cheese mixture over the onions and 'bacon' and baked the whole thing until the top was slightly browned. It turned out delicious, such a versatile recipe. You could add almost any kind of meat or even use fake meat as I did. I do think it wouldn't be nearly as good with just the onions and cheese but would be more like an omelette in a crust. The savoriness of the 'bacon' really made this special. And it's so easy, I always thought quiche was difficult but I whipped this up in just a few minutes! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is a staple for my recipe book. Its delicious as is and extremely adaptable to whatever you have on hand. I have added bacon, toasted pine nuts, paprika and nutmeg to it with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was a very good, very basic, very quick quiche that could be easily customized. I pretty made as is except I used half & half instead of cream, and on the recommendation of another member I added another egg. I forgot to get swiss at the store so I used 1/4 c. cheddar & 1/4 c. parmesan. NOTE: If you are using a deep dish pie crust this quiche will not be enough to fill the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This recipe is great. Everyone who tried it loved it. I made it twice and I think you need 4 eggs. I guess it depends on the pie crust you use though. I also used 1/2 cup of cheese. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I loved this receipe it was simple enough for a quick enough for lunch, a light dinner or brunch. I added some cracked pepper, a little salt, nutmeg and some dried italian seasoning. It was hit with my family. I seved it with sauteed brocolini and fresh tomatoes thinly sliced with a few sprinkles of cracked black pepper and lightly salted. It was a hit with my family. I agree with another member would be good smoked salmon or even crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States