Onion Pan-Fried Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this one week night for dinner. It was excellent! I was hesitant to use Lipton Onion Soup (MSG) but I did as well as I tweeked the recipe just a tad (not that it needed it), that is just me. I added garlic powder, grated Parmesan cheese and bread crumbs to the flour/onion soup mixture and fried it as instructed, but on my side burner on my Gas Grill to alleviate the fried food smell inside. It worked out great! My husband and I loved it. And as the other reviews stated, nice and crisp outside and moist and juicy inside. No need for a steak sauce on the side. The next day I reheated one pork chop in the Microwave and it was just as good as the night before. I plan to use this recipe for Chicken Cutlets and Cubed Steak in the future. It seems guilt free as you are using EVOO (olive oil) instead of the artery clogging vegetable oil. Thank you MSPECANGIRL417 for the great recipe!!! :-) This one is now on a recipe card as well as in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammy0211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Another recipe that I make at least twice a month! I add about 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, but that's the only change I make. These have a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These pork chops were really good! We used vegetable oil instead of olive oil and they turned out great! I recommend coating the pork chops in egg before coating them, the coating stays on much better when cooking them. Also, make sure you do not overcook them because the onion bits from the onion soup mix will burn. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milissa Hewitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a good dish. In my experience, the onion soup mix and flour mixture didn't offer enough flavor. Once in the oil, it didn't really stick very well. I think I will try vegetable oil next time instead of olive oil. It didn't seem to cook quite hot enough. The meat was done no problem, but the cuts didn't get crispy at all and actually stayed a bit oily. I will try this again. Maybe it's me and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
GOOD EASY RECIPE. I ADDED FLOUR TO THE CRACKER AND ONION SOUP MIX, AND DIPPED THE CHOPS IN EGG BEFORE THE BATTER. THE FAMILY LOVED IT. MY 5 YEAR OLD SON WANTED IT THE NEXT NIGHT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My Family and i loved this recipe! Crushing up the onions is a great idea. I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good, my husband loved them. Used 1/4 cup of ital.bread crumbs mixed in the flour & soup mix. Put pepper & garlic salt on chops before frying. Nice flavor. Had enough coating for 4 med. thick chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I had to sign up just so that I could write a review for this AWESOME recipe! I added the 1/4 cup of dry breadcrumbs as suggested, as well as salt and pepper, and cut the onion soup down to 1/2 package. I also added about a tablespoon of butter to the pan as the chops were cooking. My husband says this is one of the best dishes I have ever made for him (and he likes ALL my cooking!) It is so simple and so flavorful, and we'll definitely be cooking this again and again. In fact, I'm going to premix a container of flour, onion soup mix, and breadcrumbs to have on hand. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe, however I did add a few minor changes. I added garlic salt and ground black pepper prior to frying. Also, I initially found the french union soup by itself to be a bit "much"...So I took about a cup or so of french fried durkees onions (crushed), mixed with about half the french onion soup. DELICIOUS! Tender--most and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica-Rabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I added 1/4 c. breadcrumbs as mentioned in other reviews and made sure I seasoned the chops with kosher salt and pepper before breading. They were excellent! The onion flavoring in the pan with drippings made great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States