Onion Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
When I added the onions to the pan, the sugar syrup pretty much seized to a big clump (I suspect from the water in the onions). I just kept breaking it apart, and it finally melted down. After that, it took about 40 minutes to reach the jam consistency, but it was worth the wait. We had this on sliders, and it was so good. I have some leftover, so I'm going to try it on a cream cheese chunk to have with some crackers. Good job Wendy Marie. UPDATE 4.16.12 Made another batch of this, and slathered it onto a ciabatta roll with turkey, swiss cheese, lettuce & tomato. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I did like it. However, it didn't look very pretty. I don't think it ever REALLY jells like jam. So be carful to not over cook it. I probably over cooked! If I was to have a BBQ and invite family and friends, I would make it again. Yet, 4 cups of onion only made a little over 8oz. Also, my sugar seized up also and I just kept on it . . . it all breaks up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Omgosh! First I tried making this with brown sugar.Bad move, Burned it! Second time I used white sugar, turned off the flame on stove and it Burned again! 3rd X was a charm. This was Really good! I grilled brauts and ate them with flour tortillas. Liked the sweet n sour relish on dogs. Thank you Wendy Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I didn't have red wine vinegar but had balsamic so used that instead. This was quite good - except using the balsamic causes the mixture to turn almost black. I'm going to use it at an upcoming July 4th cookout to accompany a cheese board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is so good! My onions took about two hours to reduce to a thickened consistency. Great caramelized onion flavor. I enjoyed it first with some turkey kielbasa. Will keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Ive made this a handful of times now,with the only change being 2 tsp minced garlic added. First few times I followed directions exactly as is. The other day I did it a bit differently, and I think it came out better. I sauteed the onions first, and once they turned translucent, I added BROWN sugar to them, and a dash of Worcestershire. I find that this gave it a richer taste, and helped it set up better in the end. If your a fan of caramelized onions, this is a jar to keep in the fridge! Don't be afraid to make chopping onions a family affair, because I guarantee you'll want to make more than one jar (works out be about 7-8 smaller onions per 12 oz jar when cooked down)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I am making this right now! I had a ton of onions, w/no idea what to do w/them, so I jumped on the internet to look for ideas. Being the internet, there are a million & 1 choices. I've diced & froze several, making a goulash & of course, making Onion Jam...and (obviously ;) chose this recipe. When I 1st saw the recipes I was nah, that doesn't sound vry good but I kept reading more & more & since hubby & I luv onions so much I figured y not?! I did have the same problem that others mentioned about the sugar seizing on me & that was my fault bc I thought that I had the pan way too hot & removed it frm the fire. But, again, as others said it jus took a lil effort & time to get it melted back dwn. I took a sm taste (b4 & aftr) adding the vinegar & it is vry tasty indeed. I can't wait to try it on all kinds of things. If it comes out as well I think its going to :-) I will have to dbl the recipe nxt time (or possibly triple. I jus checked it & it doesn't make nearly as much as I thought it would) TY for sharing ur recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
After searching extensively online for an onion jam/chutney recipe, I decided to try this one, as it had only a few ingredients, and I wanted my first venture into onion jam to be an easy one. The end result was delicious, we had it on mashed potatoes for supper, and I will have some tomorrow for lunch on crackers with cream cheese. Being jam, it is a bit sweet, but the tartness of the vinegar balances it out nicely. My only critique would be to chop the onions more finely to make it easier to spread if you want to use it as such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Searched through many recipes and decided on this because it was easy. WOW!! It's a keeper. I also agree with another reviewer,next time will chop onions smaller. I'd suggest a 1/4" dice. Mine were 1/2" so halfway through the cooking process, I used a hand masher and mashed them finer. Only had 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar so used apple cider vinegar to make 1/2 cup. Can't be rushed though, it did take about an hour and half from start to finish and worth the time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
As others mentioned, once the onions were added the sugar became crystalized clumps. But I turned the heat on low and let it melt on its own. I didn't have Red Wine Vinegar but used Balsamic instead - same amount as called for. I also added red pepper flakes, 4 garlic cloves and some celery seed. Once it cooled down I put it in the food processor. Tastes pretty close to the Sweet Onion sauce Subway uses on their sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annelise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States