Onion Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I actually used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this bread. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the warm milk, warm water and sugar for ten minutes. I then added the butter and the rest of the dry ingredients. I did double the spices. Because I wanted this to be less of a batter bread and a more sturdy loaf (I read all the reviews before I made it and noticed that a few people got a bread with a more crumbly consistancy and that's not what I wanted), I added 3/4 more flour to get it to pull into a ball and let the dough hook do it's work for five minutes. I did one rise in a greased bowl on my warm oven (it did really well by itself, I actually left it for a couple hours and it really didn't affect this bread), then formed it into a loaf and let it rise again in the loaf pan until it rose just over the bread pan. 350* for a half hour was perfection. This bread cut perfectly, was chewy and soft and just wonderful. Very, VERY good bread. I'm quite happy with the results. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This one is a real tasty winner! Great flavor and texture. Followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 73Pinto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Great tasting & easy! Didn't change a thing & followed the recipe exactly, which is rare for me. We really enjoyed this bread and I love that it was so easy and quick for a yeast bread. The crust was so crispy and golden brown & the texture of the bread wasn't crumbly at all. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I really enjoyed this bread, despite the fact that is IS very crumbly, rather like cornbread in a way. The flavor is excellent, and it requires no kneading. I got a tender loaf without following the advice of the reviewer who suggested kneading it. The only changes I made were to replace 1/4c. flour with whole wheat and to brush a low-fat spreadable butter over the crust when it came out so it melted on. I'm pretty sure I'll make this one again, it's very easy for the tasty flavor you get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
the taste of this is good, but the crumb is not so great. it's very crumbly, almost like beer bread, and not really want I want from a yeast bread. The dough was pretty wet, and it's my fault I didn't add more flour, but that shouldn't make it very crumbly. I had to bake an extra 10 minutes for the loaf to be baked through. Not a bad loaf, and I think I'll use a portion of it for stuffing, but not something I'll make again since it's so crumbly. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreavyse
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Very good - very easy!! Great with soup; but really too strong for a "sandwhich" bread. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I bake bread a lot but I must say that I liked the "no need to knead". This was wonderful and a great hit with my family. I will be making this often. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
WOW! I was a little nervous about this bread since there are so few reviews. But it was incredible! Flavorful, light, moist...sooo good. Good on its own or with soup. And it is VERY easy to make and has a short rising time. I did not need to knead it. It burnt on the top, but that could easily be because it was very close to the top of the oven (I was cooking it with other bread). However, I thorough enjoyed the crust anyways. It's better than the egg bread I cooked with it, with much less fat. THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This ones a keeper! I recently started baking my own bread. It tastes so much better than the store bought stuff. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was a great loaf! Made it for a dinner party and everyone complimented on it. I omitted the dill weed but it still tasted fantastic! Way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiestaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States