Onion, Garlic, Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Emmanuelle
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I used fresh onions and it was good... think to add more flour if you do the same. I did not like the consistancy though. I won't use dry milk next time, just water, and less margerine and it will probably taste better... for me anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This recipe made twice as much as my breadmaker could handle. I'll be reducing the ingredients by half next time. It even made the lid on the breadmaker lift it had risen so much. Also, the breadmaker stopped baking before the bread was done and so I had to put it in the oven for a while. What a bummer! Now off to clean my breadmaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe, full of flavor, I love this bread served warm with butter. I made a following tweaks: used unsalted butter instead of margarine, fresh minced onion instead of flakes, and minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Also added about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, 1/2 tbsp oregano and 1/2 tbsp caraway seeds. Point being, this recipe is very easy to adapt to your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I followed the directions but this came out terrible. My yeast is new but it did not rise. It was grainy and flat. The dog liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BestUCanBe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
After reading reviews that the onion overpowered the garlic, I cut down on the amount I used. I also cubed the cheese instead of shredding. This bread had a lovely crust and just enough garlic taste. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This bread is heavenly! I made it the first time and it did not rise :as I had used way too hot water. Read directions carefully and use warm tap water ONly! The second time I made this I used 3 tbs chopped vadallia onions, 2 tbs fresh chopped garlic and only 1 tsp salt and when i added the onions i also added 1 tbs. of flour to keep it from getting too wet. We had it with spagetti and family ranted and raved very moist. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whispering angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I removed the dough during the last rise and added cheese cubes, then knead it by hand for a couple of minutes and returned it to the bread machine to finish the rise. Also put some shredded cheese on top. I ended up with swirls of cheese in the bread. This bread is soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Disappointing. I doubled the garlic and it still had an overwhelming onion taste. And not enough cheddar for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Oh my goodness.... This bread is so good it makes you want to rise up and slap your Mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Spectacular taste-the only problem-didn't come together like it should have in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States