Onion, Garlic, Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This tasted great, very easy to make, made the kitchen smell like a bakery. My tops always sink, I don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is so yummy! I made in bread machine and cubed the cheese. Mine came out so rich in taste, and with a greasy crust (from the cheese). Perfect!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
What a delicious bread recipe! I DON'T HAVE A BREAD MACHINE and this still turned out fantastic. Since I was doing this without a bread machine I started with water, sugar, and yeast until it got foamy. Then I added warm milk, butter, and the flour. I stuck mostly to the recipe with a few modifications since I didn't have all of the ingredients. I used 1/2 cup warm water and 1/2 cup warm milk. And instead of using dried onion and garlic I sauteed fresh onion and 1 large clove of garlic. (It came out to be 1/4 cup of cooked onions.) I added the cooked onions and garlic along with the cheese after the first rise (which took about 45 minutes). After punching it down I let it rise until it had doubled (about an hour) then I put it in the oven at 350 for around 25 minutes until the top was golden brown. It came out delicious, the onions didn't make the bread watery and they weren't crunchy like other reviewers commented. I think sauteeing them fixes this problem. I made the loaf into a giant sandwich which we ate on our roadtrip. Everyone couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beekeebear
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe was fantastic. I am new to bread-baking--this was only my 3rd loaf. I made it in my Sunbeam breadmaker, and I followed the recipe exactly. The bread was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed it alongside some stew. The cheese was fully incorporated into the bread, unlike the photo which showed a clump of cheese in the middle. The result was a slightly dense (in a good way) very squishy, soft, and tasty loaf. It had mild onion, cheese, and garlic flavors. I was expecting it to be more oniony, but it wasn't--it was just enough. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone, and would encourage newbies to give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beekeebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Everything was going along beautifully. The rise was great, aroma was awesome but two minutes into the baking cycle it fell. I followed the recipe to the letter since it was the first time I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Honestly, this took two tries to get right. I used my Kitchen Aid to make this bread. I proofed the yeast with the water and sugar for ten minutes in the mixer bowl, then added the butter and then all the dry ingredients and the shredded cheese. (I cut the salt back to a half teaspoon.) I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour. After it doubled, I kneaded it just a bit, then formed it and set it to rise again in a loaf pan until it doubled in the loaf pan. I don't know what happened with the first loaf, it deflated in the oven and burned. But the second time, I had no issues. I did knead it with the hook a little longer but you never know. 350* for about 25 minutes was just right. This was an okay bread. Good mouth feel but really just bland. Not enough of the spices to really make you sit up and take notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
yummm. really enjoyed this bread! my crust got darker than i meant for it to but it was still very good. excellent flavor and texture. i will master bread making in spite of myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this tonight to go with a baked ziti and it was a big hit! We had to knead in the onion, garlic and cheese by hand because we missed the machine's last kneading cycle, but it still came out perfect! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yummy! Mine comes out with quite a dark crust but is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dw373
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States