Onion, Garlic, Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
We were so disappointed! The flavour was ok, but not the texture. It didn't do well in my bread machine. I follwed the recipe. I'm not sure I'll bother trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Excellent flavor and great with your favorite winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This bread was very flavorful, I used onion powder instead of the flakes, and just topped the bread with a little of the powder after the last stir down. Everyone really enjoyed it, but I give it four stars because setting my bread machine on light crust resulted in a shorter bake time, and the inside was just a little doughy in patches. But it was still a very good recipe and I will definately make it again, but with a medium crust setting so that it gets fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was very good and had a nice texture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This recipe was a great jumping-off point for me. I'm sure it was fine as it was, but my family really likes almost too much flavor in everything, so I used diced fresh onion instead of dried, and fresh minced garlic instead of powder. Of course, I had to adjust the flour level, but I ended up with a great product. I never back anything in my bread machine, so I let it do the kneading/rise work and then threw it into a loaf pan for the final rise/bake. DH and I ate it in just two days (only took that long because we were trying not to be gluttons) and although we didn't share it yet, we got compliments on the bread anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Very easy to make! Smells wonderful while cooking, and bread tasted awesome. Especially good toasted with butter. It made great sandwiches. Definitely added to recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Very good bread. I did not wait to add the garlic, onion and cheese. I added it together all at once. Turned out wonderful! Very good smothered with butter, sprinkled with parmesean and slices of tomato on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Great bread, Steve.Wonderful oniony/garlicky flavor!I have used this recipe several times and I always come out with a beautiful, nicely textured loaf. I generally add 2T of gluten to my breads to get a tight texture and a high rise. But this one is very nice on its own. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
the taste of this bread was great I didn't have much success with it rising and cooking well in my bread machine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I liked this bread, even though my family wasn't too crazy about it. I made it with the stuffed pepper soup that I also found on this site. They went great together! This bread needs to be eaten when warm, or heated up for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States