Onion Dijon Crusted Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Oh how wonderful!!! I also like the fact that this is not breaded, fried, or flour-battered! Sure saves on calories. I only had catfish 'nuggets' that are just odds and ends pieces of catfish. I also had some honey-orange dijon mustard that just was fabulous with this. Such few ingredients make this so simple and the flavors blend so nicely. I love garlic but I stuck with the amt. specified in the recipe because I didn't want to overpower the other flavors. It was perfect. I will definitely be making this recipe again and again. It also is a very inexpensive dish to make and can be made in a jiffy with no grease-splattered stove to clean up afterwards. Thanks so much! I served this with orange rice and garlic broccoli also from this site. A wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Delicious!! I was looking for something different to make in seafood, and this was it, the flavors were very good together. The only thing I added to the mustard and onions, was about 1 tsp of minced garlic. It's a winner, my husband and son loved it! It will be a regular for our Lenten meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This was incredible. My husband could not stop raving. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This was a truly fabulous meal. Definitely liked the non-fried aspect of it. I substituted dried parsley flakes for dried oregano and it was still yummy. Also paired it with the 'Sweet and Nutty Moroccan Couscous', whose sweetness perfectly complemented the tangy flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
My husband loves fish, so I tried this recipe for something different. It was really easy, used on-hand ingredients and really tasted good. I'm not a fish fan particularly, but I even ate the leftovers the next day for lunch. We'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I modified this using Sweet Hot mustard and dry chopped onion.My wife and I loved it. The best catfish we have had.I think I might try it with creamy horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This recipe was great. I used Tialpia because i am not a Catfish fan. I did not use a whole onion. I did not have garlic salt, but i used some garlic power. I loved it. The honey dijon mustard tasted really good with the fish. My husband had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Huachuca, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was fabulous! I don't know how that one person who talked in their review about all the onions meant what she said. I couldn't believe that I didn't taste the onions at all! I did use a 1/4 cup of honey mustard dressing. The finished product certainly looked very appetizing and it was! I definitely will make this again. I wasn't even sure I liked catfish, but I knew my husband did. He loved it too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great recipe! I did add my own spin to it, I took the onion and 1/3 cup mayo and added in 1 tbsp. dijon mustard, I blended these in the food processor. When the mixture was smooth, I seasoned the fish with salt and pepper and garlic.Then I smeared the onion mixture on the fish. I topped the fish with crushed corn flake crumbs. Baked it for 25 minutes and it was divine! Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States