Onion Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My guests LOVED this recipe. For me, it was a tad too sweet, maybe even a tad too salty. But certainly the celery seed makes this one work, and gives it an interesting flavor! I will try again, and update my review, maybe lessen some sugar at least as others have said they have done. Maybe even try with Splenda as one reviewer mentioned, as I am thinking of trying reducing carbs in my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Brogden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flourtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjimdt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
A nice, fresh tasting salad. I halved this recipe, using three large cucumbers and half of a medium onion and green pepper. Good salad for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this last night with a roast chicken. It's delicious. I did make some small changes. I used a red bell pepper to add color other than just green, I added additional onion & added pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Not bad but very sweet. My mom has made this salad since I can remember. For a more tart version cut the sugar to a pinch and the balsamic vinegar altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryCrowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I didn't add the green pepper, as I was trying to mimic my mom's recipe that I have lost. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent! Crisp and refreshing! Used less sugar. A great summer recipe. I used red and yellow peppers for color. Served in an old crock for a party. Dish was loved by all. Was asked for recipe more than once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I use equal amounts of the sugar and vinegar to rave reviews from family and friends. The kids asked me to plant extra cukes so we can have more of this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is such refreshing summer salad.j Just add some ziti pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good! But I used Zesty Italian Dressing instead of sugar & vinegar. I also cut the veggies into chunks, I used red onions, red bell pepper, celery (diced) & cucumbers and a couple dashes of sea salt, was ready to eat within the hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States