Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was amazing!I did add chopped black olives but think it would be better without them.Sounds and looks hard and expensive but is sooo easy and wonderful.Even picky children in my home that night loved it!!Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaston, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
loved the recipe and expanded on it - add brocolli,toasted pine nuts -when done add it to cooked fusilli pasta and add a dollop of goat cheese-it's fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was very tasty. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and I cut the onions into larger chunks. The sauce helped to keep the chicken moist while it cooked. I used the extra broth mixture to make couscous as a side dish and it was unbelievably good! Good low carb meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
3 words..Oh My God! This recipe is fabulous. The onions and garlic take over the place, but the balsamic vinegar mellows the flavour. Used chicken breast instead of thighs and they were tender and juicy. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Really great recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This was delicious. Some parts of the recipe did not work out exactly as the recipe explained. For example the chicken took much longer to cook then 20 minutes and the balsamic vinegar/chicken stock mixture never really thickened for me. I added the sundried tomatoes to the balsamic vinegar mixture and they were soft by the time the dish was done. Thank you for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was great. My Husband loved this recipe. I made a few modifications. I added mushrooms at the same time as the garlic. Used chicken breasts instead of leq guarters. The breasts were tender and extremely flavorful. I also used sun-dried tomatoes with basil in them and added the tomatoes to the chicken broth and vinegar. Thank you for the great recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe! I used chicken breasts and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I have made this recipe several times now and my husband and I have enjoyed it thoroughly. After the first time, I made some changes and fine tuned it with much success. I did the following: 1)I sauted the onions at medium heat, it takes too long on low heat and they don't soften enough. 2)I covered the chicken/onion mixture with only a drizzle of balsamic and stock, and prepare the sauce while it bakes(is quicker that way) 3)I simmered the sauce until it had reduced by half, then I added 2 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp dijon mustard to thicken. Used a whisk to combine them, and then poured over chicken and baked 5 more minutes. Also, it is great with pork chops as well, and the sauce marries nicely with baked asparagus too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Oh my God, this is delicious! My parents loved this. I did add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce but it didn't really thicken. I also just added more like a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. I do have to agree with other reviewers -- this makes A LOT of sauce. I used 10 chicken thighs and the sauce was already half-bathing the chicken. Still tasted delicious though, and kept the chicken moist. Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States