Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I have made this recipe several times now and my husband and I have enjoyed it thoroughly. After the first time, I made some changes and fine tuned it with much success. I did the following: 1)I sauted the onions at medium heat, it takes too long on low heat and they don't soften enough. 2)I covered the chicken/onion mixture with only a drizzle of balsamic and stock, and prepare the sauce while it bakes(is quicker that way) 3)I simmered the sauce until it had reduced by half, then I added 2 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp dijon mustard to thicken. Used a whisk to combine them, and then poured over chicken and baked 5 more minutes. Also, it is great with pork chops as well, and the sauce marries nicely with baked asparagus too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! What a hit! I changed just a few things just like in someone before post. I used boneless skinless chicken breast just because we prefer these. I made recipe as it said until you put it in the oven. I put the chicken in a oven dish, added HALF the stock and just a drizzle of the Balsamic, covered and put in oven. I put the remaining stock and 1/2 cup of Balsamic in a pan on stove. I boiled until it reduced by half. I then added 2 tablespoons of butter and 1 tablespoon of spicy mustard. You probably could use a dijon like someone else had suggested, its just what i had on hand. I mixed that to thicken it a bit, poured it over the chicken, and let it cook for the remaining 10 minutes. This is a "make'er again", for sure!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I was looking for an onion/balsamic vinegar/chicken dish and found this one to be closest to what my taste buds were looking for. Although I did change it up a little bit. I used chicken breasts sliced into medallions, which I seasoned w/ S&P and coated in flour. I caramelized the onions in one pan and sauteed the chicken in another. Once the onions were done I added the liquids and brought it up to a simmer and added the cooked chicken. Then I simmered everything for 20 - 30 minutes to allow the sauce to reduce. I left out the tomatoes because I didn't have any and my children probably wouldn't eat them. Next time I will add them for flavor and just remove the tomatoes from my children's servings. A final thought, use REALLY GOOD vinegar for best results. I would give it 5 stars but I felt I altered the recipe too much to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This was delicious. Some parts of the recipe did not work out exactly as the recipe explained. For example the chicken took much longer to cook then 20 minutes and the balsamic vinegar/chicken stock mixture never really thickened for me. I added the sundried tomatoes to the balsamic vinegar mixture and they were soft by the time the dish was done. Thank you for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was very tasty. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and I cut the onions into larger chunks. The sauce helped to keep the chicken moist while it cooked. I used the extra broth mixture to make couscous as a side dish and it was unbelievably good! Good low carb meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
3 words..Oh My God! This recipe is fabulous. The onions and garlic take over the place, but the balsamic vinegar mellows the flavour. Used chicken breast instead of thighs and they were tender and juicy. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was great. My Husband loved this recipe. I made a few modifications. I added mushrooms at the same time as the garlic. Used chicken breasts instead of leq guarters. The breasts were tender and extremely flavorful. I also used sun-dried tomatoes with basil in them and added the tomatoes to the chicken broth and vinegar. Thank you for the great recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This dish was very good, a borderline 5. I also substituted chicken breast. Good flavor and texture. Added sliced mushrooms and saute'd them with the garlic. Sprinkled top with some green onion tops and some Parmasaen cheese. Served over egg noodles, to entice the little ones to try it. A little time consuming but still easy to do. Thanks for the recipe. I am sure we'll use it a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
This recipe sounds good from start to finish, and while it isn't a "quick" meal, it isn't incredibly time-consuming, either. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts sliced in 1-inch strips instead of leg quarters, and they turned out great. My husband isn't a "leg man"! Anyway, the next time, I'll omit the sun-dried tomato, as they remained leathery, even after simmering a while with the onion mixture. My 11-month old enjoyed the chicken, but my 3 1/2-year old was repulsed by the smell of the simmering Balsamic vinegar and wouldn't try the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
loved the recipe and expanded on it - add brocolli,toasted pine nuts -when done add it to cooked fusilli pasta and add a dollop of goat cheese-it's fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States