Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum! We loved this. My SO said it was fancy restaurant quality! I made sure the onions were nice and carmelized (I added a little sugar to help it along). I used skinless boneless chicken breasts, and they came out so tender and juicy. Even though I'm a huge garlic fan, four cloves of garlic was a little much for me, so next time I'd use 2-3. I forgot the tomatoes. It goes GREAT with the Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Just made this for the first time and we loved it. I used the suggestions of adding mustard and butter after reducing the sauce. I cut the onions in half and then thinly sliced rather than chopping them. Used chicken breasts and thighs. For those who think the amount of liquid should be cut in half, I wonder if their sauces reduced properly. This website has good articles on how to reduce sauces and caramelize onions. Love allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
WOW! What a great recipe! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead and it came out just as good. I was so glad I had all of the ingredients on hand! Definately a make-again one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Great taste! Will use chicken thighs and add a bit of sugar or honey next time. I cooked with chicken breasts, but they were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterleamon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is so good. Also, it is an easy dish to cook.Don't let the balsamic vinegar scare you. This chicken had so much flavor. I did add artichoke hearts and mushrooms but other than that I cooked the recipe exactly as it is written. It really was very yummy. I will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I was going to give it 3 stars because it didn't turn out as I hoped but my husband really liked the flavour so I am giving it a 4, and will try it again to improve upon this rating. Took a long time because of the time taken to try to reduce the sauce and it was still runny after 20 minutes. Took 30 minutes to cook the chicken (used boneless thighs). It was swimming in juice. I will try again but try to thicken the sauce and give myself more time to prepare this dish. I substituted yellow pepper and black olives for the sundried tomatos which I didn't have. My husband really liked the additions. This dish has great potential, just needs a little tweeking for the sauce thickening. Not too vinegary at all, just mild tasting. I really love balsamic vinegar. That is probably why I am a bit disappointed in the thin-ness of the sauce. I wanted it to stick more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I was really disappointed with this dish. I only changed the leg quarters to breasts, but followed all other directions exactly. It was way to much of a time investment for what I felt was an just an okay dish. My kids complained about the pungent smell of the balsamic and my son said that onion taste was overpowering. I love both balsamic and onions; I think this would be better suited sliced on top of greens rather than stand alone entree. I will not make this again, it just didn't fit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed this and so did my boyfriend. I used thin chicken breasts and added a little dry mustard and some Italian spices. Reducing and baking the vinegar mixture makes it musky and creamy rather than biting the tongue. Instead of sun-dried tomatoes, I cut cherry tomatoes in half and stirred them in for 2 minutes while the onions were still on the grille... definitely a "make again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Very yummy dinner. I am teaching my husband to cook for the family since I am having our second child soon and he will need to take over some of the duties of the house. So pretty much he took over cooking this dish. It turned out great. We had to bake longer than 20 mins more like 35 mins. We used chicken breasts but pretty much stuck to the recipe. Ill add to my dinner main dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crusie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Changed to 2 bone-in chicken breasts, and 1 can drained diced tomatoes, since I didn't have any sun-dried on hand. This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States