Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was an awesome recipe. I had leftover sundried tomatoes in olive oil and herbs, so I omitted the salt and pepper. My sauce wouldn't thicken so I just kept reducing to about 1/3 the original amount. When transferred to the oven, it did thicken beautifully. I served it with boneless breasts. Will definitely add it to my regular chicken menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
At first the sauce wouldn't thicken, then it turned into tar. I followed the recipe exactly except I used chicken breasts. Super bland. I would have added at least SOME herbs had I known! Oh and the smell was awful. I live in an apartment and the entire floor stunk! You could smell it all the way to the elevators and I'm in the back. I've made balsamic reductions before, but for some reason this one smelled uber bad. I'm giving it two stars because after it wasn't thickening at all, I accidentally thickened it too much and well, it came out like tar. It's been really hard scraping it off of my utensils. Anyway, if I ever make something like this again I would add some fresh herbs, or dry herbs, or any herbs! Just something to give it some oomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Fantastic! I used red pepper as well. Good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesome cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
WOW! What a great recipe! DELICIOUS! I did make a few changes though- used chicken breasts and just pan fried them. Removed the chicken and used the pan to combine garlic, balsamic, chicken stock, a little white wine and Stone Kitchen Balsamic Onions! WOW! Then poured over the chicken. I really think the premade balsamic onions were out of this world...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYMELIS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Wow, the husband loved this one! Be patient with the stock and vinegar mixture, it takes a while for it to thicken up. Also, I needed to cook the chicken a lot longer, it just didn't seem done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Delicious! i loved it and my husband loved it. i followed some of the other reviews and added butter and mustard to try to thicken it up, it never thickened up but it didnt matter it was soooo good. i put it over egg noodles. will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
yummo! i had a whole chicken creeping on its expiration date so i used that instead. i seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and browned it on both sides (skin-side down first). i removed the chicken into a pan and then deglazed the pan with the balsamic and the stock, added the onions and garlic, and simmered the whole mixture for 10-15 minutes. i added the sun-dried tomatoes to the mix and poured it over the chicken, foiled the pan, and popped the whole thing into the oven for 25 minutes. served it with rice - and it was great! thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
WOW! Very good! Added 1 tbsp dijon mustard and 2 tbsp's of butter to the sauce. Perffffect! Served with salad and gahlic bread. Also I used thigh filets instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
It was very good and juicy hubby and mom in law loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey'sAngel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was good, but not amazing. My husband did keep saying that the Chicken was cooked perfectly though. I think the grilling/baking/juice combo is an excellent method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States