Onion Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is really, really good! We just love the mustard flavor...I usually add a little extra! I've made this 3 or 4 times, and it's really worth the effort. We like to have this for weekend lunch along with a glass of wine. You can really use just about any kind of cheese, I use the shredded blends, whatever I happen to have around...but today I'm going to sprinkle a little garlic powder in the butter mixture! Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This receipe is very good. When I make it I use sweet red onion and swiss or mozzerella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I've made a version of this for years; we call it "Vienna Bread". I use Swiss cheese instead, use dried mustard instead of the prepared mustard, brown/crystallize some chopped sweet onion instead of the green onion, and add poppy seeds. Wonderful shtuff!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bineshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have any french bread so I improvised a bit and spread both mixtures over slices of potato bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a hit at our wedding reception. Such a unique flavor from the mustard. One of those things that sounds like it would mot work and then sneaks up and surprises you. Thanks a bunch for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
We really loved this! I used a mini baguette from Costco, so I scaled the recipe back considerably. I think the directions for cutting the bread are confusing and need to be corrected. I found it difficult to stuff the onions and cheese into the cuts, but I managed. I did add a little garlic powder to the butter mixture. I’m anxious to try this again without the lemon juice, just to compare. But regardless, it is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was pretty good. I added garlic, and next time I would cut the amount of lemon juice in half, we found it a little too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I make this all the time I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States