Onion Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this as a side dish last night with dinner and DH and I thought it was pretty good. I did modify the orignal recipe slightly by using only 3 large onions (which was the perfect amount IMHO), I used about 15 Ritz crackers on the top; I also dotted the top of the casserole with about 1 T. of butter. It was a good dish, but it's VERY rich, a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Excellent - will win over those who claim not to like onions! Like another reviewer, I increase number of crackers used for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Not exactly weight-watchers, but fabulous enough to make an exception. It disappeared so quickly, there was none left for the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
every man i have cooked this recipe for , has loved it. i have been cooking this recipe for awhile. i found it on taste of home, some time ago, it is great and easy, i love it. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I got this recipe from my Aunt recently and it really is simple and delicious. I doubled the recipe and I can't even describe what a hit this was with mine AND my hubby's family! The butter (use a real stick of butter not margarine!!) sour cream and parmesan cheese turns into the yummiest sauce you could imagine for vidalia onions! All I added was minced garlic, freshly ground sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Also, make sure to use a few extra crackers in the topping and mix the cracker crumbs with a little butter, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Found this recipe as I was looking for something to do with the 50lbs of onions that my husband brought home. I was a bit skeptical at first, but it smelled terrific and the taste was amazing! Very simple recipe, but great flavor!! Took it to a potluck dinner and the pan was scraped clean! My family begged me to make it again the next day because some of them didn't get it at the potluck. The only change I made was to use crushed Cool Ranch Doritos instead of the crackers, so that the recipe would be gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Wow! That's what everyone in my family said about this wonderful side dish. It's simple to make, I always have the ingredients on hand and what seems like a simple combination of ingredients makes an absolutely delicious casserole. I'm planning on making this for Thanksgiving and wowing the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodgepole, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I had been looking for a recipe very close to this one for quite some time. This was very good! I decreased the number of onions used by two and it still came out very flavorful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great easy recipe. I used butter instead of margarine and used a tsp of garlic. Family loved this. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this as a side dish for Christmas dinner, because I'm getting tired of the same old stuff. Well, it was different but it wasn't good. My family likes onion, especially my mom, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States