Onion Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This bread turned out fantastic. I have not made a lot of bread having been put off by the amount of kneading that is required. This recipe was great because it did not require any. I just mixed it up and let it do its thing! The bread was lovely and moist, and the recipe would make a great base for other versions (I'm thinking cheese and pesto, semi-dried tomatoes, roasted capsicums etc). I can't wait to try some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
wow! That was great. I'm making that again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
So easy to make and so good!! It smells awesome while its cooking too. The only thing I changed was I added several more tablespoons of onion than was called for. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
THANK YOU for this delicious bread! I used whole wheat bread flour, and safflower oil instead of shortening, and a lot more onion than called for. I got a dense, aromatic, incredibly satisfying loaf of hearty bread - exactly what I was craving. The onion flavour is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
The bread was easy to make and very tasty. I suggest using small thin slices of onion on top of the bread rather than chuncks. The chuncks will not cook well into the bread and cause it to spoil sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I was looking for a milk-free bread recipe and found so much more!! This was great, soft moist bread. I didn't knead it, just followed the directions, the only thing I changed was put oat bran in with the flour (50/50) and that was MMMMMM... Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Very yummy! I used red, green and yellow onion to clean out the fridge and it tasted great! I also used more onion than it called for as we are huge onion fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Very good and reliable recipe. I have used several different shortenings and flours (bread/all-purpose) with minimal adjustments in flour quantity. Also great with rosemary, thyme, and marjoram. Toasted, it's addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very tasty light bread - not heavy at all. I used 1/4 cup onion and a handful of grated sharp cheddar. I also kneaded it as per any other bread loaf. It made a little too much for one loaf, so I took out enough to also make a couple of rolls. Tip of the day: I always put a 1/4 tsp of ground ginger in my yeast mixture as this makes it work harder and loaves come out lighter. You cannot taste the ginger in the finished loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was good. It was very heavy and I had to add a little more of the seasonings to suit our tastes. I didn't have the shortening so I used butter and had a little problem with the dough being sticky. I just kneaded in a little more flour. I had to bake it a little longer than what was indicated, but hubby and son enjoyed this so I'm happy. Thanks Claudia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States