Onion Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It didn't rise at first, and it took about 2 hours in all, but I put that down to my airing cupboard not being warm enough. A padded radiator finally did the trick! I put in about twice the onion and a full teaspoon of oregano, and replaced one of the cups of strong bread flour with wholemeal. I also used a sugar substitute, and olive oil to brush the loaves (I only have small loaf tins, hence 2 small loaves), and although the dough appeared really dense, it cooked beautifully. The bread is light, moist and incredibly tasty. My first ever attempt at bread, and it was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Nom Nom Nom enjoyed all around! light & fluffy with a yummy onion flavor, next time I'll be adding a little bit more chopped onion but yummers none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Petawawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jl_hathaway
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very simple batter bread with nice flavors. I added a bit of dill and a pinch more oregano. I loaded the top of the loaf with onions and it looked beautiful. Used the bread for a mint/cumin mayo bacon lettuce and cucumber sandwich. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. Very good with steak. Makes wonderful grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
again i found a really good bread recipe...i made it in the bread machine so i didn't put the onions on top...tho i bet i could...but next time (and there will be many next times) i will do the dough cycle and make into buns and put the onions on top...this is a recipe i have been looking for for awhile...tho i'd like to add more oregano next time...so thanks very much for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Loved the texture of this bread, left out the oregano and it was really good. A little salty but good. Next time I will cut the salt back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I altered the recipe slightly - using half wheat flour, half white. I also coated the bread with garlic infused olive oil instead of topping with onions because we used it for spaghetti. I'll definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan Tribbett
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is absolutely delicious bread. As far as bread recipes go, this is one of the easiest recipes I have ever made. The recipe is easy to manipulate. The most recent time I made it, I added about 4 oz. of cubed colby jack cheese just before the second rise, which was delicious for dipping in artichoke dip. However, you probably don't want to add cheese to it if you are making sandwiches. The first time I made it, I added the onions after the second rise and they never sank in and most of the onions fell off when I cut through the loaf. Putting them in before the second rise holds the onions in much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Tribbett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This turned out great just following the directions. I've even used it as a base to get even more creative - adding jalapenos, substituting some corn meal, etc for different flavors. This bread is awesome. Use more yeast if you want it bigger - I like it the way it is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Wow, this was so good and easy to prepare. I like the no knead method. I'm going to try making grilled cheese sandwiches tonight with it, I think it will be delicious. I cut off the end crust, my favorite part, and wowie, it's so good. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States