Onion Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Fabulous bread! It looks just like a loaf you would get from the supermarket, but tastes even better. I cut the recipe in half and it worked very well. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
this bread was perfect! I love onion bagels and that's what I was looking for in the way of flavor. It was so easy. I'm sure I didn't even form the loaves very well, but they still baked perfectly! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great recipe. Bread came out very well. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was really delicious. I baked one loaf in a stone loaf pan and preferred it as there was no sticking. My second loaf was in a metal pan (I did grease it) and it still stuck a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This bread was easy to make and full of flavor. My who family family enjoyed it. And the onion flavoring is not overpowering like my wife thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddm9544

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This bread is excellent and very quick and easy to make. I only had one package of yeast so I was only able to make one loaf. I did sprinkle kosher salt and some mixed herbs on top during the second rising period. One other note is that this bread sticks very bad to your pan so make sure you use lots of shortening to grease the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My family and I really like this yummy recipe. I only made one loaf, but I still used an entire packet of the soup mix because I like the stronger onion flavor. It was my first try at baking bread on my own (just last night, without a stand mixer or bread machine for help) and to my surprise, the loaf baked up perfectly. It's delicious! I added a small handful of canned mushrooms that I dried out a bit in the oven first, and then I topped the loaf off with a few sliced spanish olives to make it look different. This bread makes tasty ham sandwiches, or it can just be eaten alone. I will be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and pretty easy. I added real minced onions and garlic instead of the mix and it turned out great. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This bread is delicious! yummy yummy! I'm making it again tonight! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Made this for the first time today and it was wonderful! I used water instead of milk to make it non-dairy, and it was still perfect. Garnished with chopped onion before I baked it. My dad couldn't believe I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States