Onion Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This bread is excellent and very quick and easy to make. I only had one package of yeast so I was only able to make one loaf. I did sprinkle kosher salt and some mixed herbs on top during the second rising period. One other note is that this bread sticks very bad to your pan so make sure you use lots of shortening to grease the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
We didn't care for it. It didn't have much of an onion flavor. It didn't rise very well either, maybe it was my yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and pretty easy. I added real minced onions and garlic instead of the mix and it turned out great. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Fabulous bread! It looks just like a loaf you would get from the supermarket, but tastes even better. I cut the recipe in half and it worked very well. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I only make 1 loaf at a time, but I use the entire package of dry onion soup mix for half of the recipe. 5 stars made this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Made this for the first time today and it was wonderful! I used water instead of milk to make it non-dairy, and it was still perfect. Garnished with chopped onion before I baked it. My dad couldn't believe I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My family and I really like this yummy recipe. I only made one loaf, but I still used an entire packet of the soup mix because I like the stronger onion flavor. It was my first try at baking bread on my own (just last night, without a stand mixer or bread machine for help) and to my surprise, the loaf baked up perfectly. It's delicious! I added a small handful of canned mushrooms that I dried out a bit in the oven first, and then I topped the loaf off with a few sliced spanish olives to make it look different. This bread makes tasty ham sandwiches, or it can just be eaten alone. I will be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This came together nicely, it's just taking donkey's years to rise. Almost two hours later and it's finally risen to almost the top of the loaf pan! I'll edited my review later after I've baked it and we've tried it with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was great bread, even though I did some things wrong. I don't have a bread pan, so I used muffin pans. I halved the recipe, which gave me 15 rolls. I still used an entire packet of onion soup mix because I wasn't paying attention. Despite all this, the rolls were delicious, and I really want to get a bread pan and follow the directions properly because I'm sure it'd be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This bread is really good, but I just can't bring myself to give it 5 stars...I'd rate it a 4.5 if I could. I served it with some homemade vegetable-beef soup and it was a nice accompaniment. Everybody had seconds of the bread (and soup!). I'll make again as it was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States