Onion Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and pretty easy. I added real minced onions and garlic instead of the mix and it turned out great. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My family and I really like this yummy recipe. I only made one loaf, but I still used an entire packet of the soup mix because I like the stronger onion flavor. It was my first try at baking bread on my own (just last night, without a stand mixer or bread machine for help) and to my surprise, the loaf baked up perfectly. It's delicious! I added a small handful of canned mushrooms that I dried out a bit in the oven first, and then I topped the loaf off with a few sliced spanish olives to make it look different. This bread makes tasty ham sandwiches, or it can just be eaten alone. I will be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
this bread was perfect! I love onion bagels and that's what I was looking for in the way of flavor. It was so easy. I'm sure I didn't even form the loaves very well, but they still baked perfectly! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was great bread, even though I did some things wrong. I don't have a bread pan, so I used muffin pans. I halved the recipe, which gave me 15 rolls. I still used an entire packet of onion soup mix because I wasn't paying attention. Despite all this, the rolls were delicious, and I really want to get a bread pan and follow the directions properly because I'm sure it'd be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This bread is really good, but I just can't bring myself to give it 5 stars...I'd rate it a 4.5 if I could. I served it with some homemade vegetable-beef soup and it was a nice accompaniment. Everybody had seconds of the bread (and soup!). I'll make again as it was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This bread is excellent and very quick and easy to make. I only had one package of yeast so I was only able to make one loaf. I did sprinkle kosher salt and some mixed herbs on top during the second rising period. One other note is that this bread sticks very bad to your pan so make sure you use lots of shortening to grease the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This bread was easy to make and full of flavor. My who family family enjoyed it. And the onion flavoring is not overpowering like my wife thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddm9544

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was really delicious. I baked one loaf in a stone loaf pan and preferred it as there was no sticking. My second loaf was in a metal pan (I did grease it) and it still stuck a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great recipe. Bread came out very well. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Fabulous bread! It looks just like a loaf you would get from the supermarket, but tastes even better. I cut the recipe in half and it worked very well. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States