Onion Barley Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
very good and filing! it got a bitdried out in the oven so I added more water but could be that oven temps are different. next time i will try it with chicken bullion - great side - will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
it was ok. buttons already soggy and soggier after cooking in broth. barley was a little chewy; not sure if just not cooked long enough. overall flavorpretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
So good! Even my anti-health-food husband said, "I revise my earlier disdain," and went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I realize this recipe is supposed to be pretty basic, but it was just too bland. Definitely needs some doctoring up! Of course, the imagination is the limit when it comes to what could be added here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
So delicious and wholesome! Followed the recipe exactly. Turned oven off and let sit while I finished grilling. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
After reading the reviews I decided to make this with some alterations. I only had instant barley so mine only took about 20 mins to cook. I browned the barley along with 1/2 a white onion and 1/2 a celery rib, both finely chopped as will as 3 cloves of garlic. Instead of water I used chicken stock. I added about 1 cup of thinly sliced baby bellas and a dash of cumin. This was my 1st attempt at making barely and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I used beef broth which the barley absorbed giving the dish a rich, beefy flavor. I could have used it as the main dish. I also used fresh mushrooms because that is what I had on hand. The mushrooms were sautéed in butter prior to my adding to the barley. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great way to cook barley! I substituted leek for the green onion and used fresh mushrooms because that's what I had on hand, sauteeing them along with the barley before adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very delicious. I used vegetable broth in place of the water and beef bullion. Definitely would make it again. Add parsley when serving for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
For something with so few ingredients, this is delicious! I was hesitant to try it because it just didn't sound like it would taste good, but with all the good reviews I decided to give it a try. Instead of water, I used low sodium veggie broth. I also sauteed the onion and mushrooms with a little garlic before baking it all in a casserole dish (I upped the servings to 6 to feed my family). Kids loved it. Served as a main dish with a veggie side....easy weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States