Onigiri - Japanese Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sehlynah12
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was amasing! I added my picture of how they turned out! It was delicious! All my friends were jealous at how well they turned out! As my first Onigiri, I give this recipes 5 Stars! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sehlynah12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Prairie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used our rice cooker's sushi setting to make the rice, so I can't speak for those instructions... but we followed everything else in order to make this yummy traditional snack (which I ironically first discovered at the local 7-Eleven's while studying abroad in Beijing!). For the filling: I used drained canned tuna fish mixed with dashi soup stock and Kewpie mayonnaise (Japanese mayo, and yes, it is different). I then topped with roasted sesame seeds and wrapped with nori. I don't think you can really go wrong with proportions here: just experiment until you find your nori size preference! My hubby likes less, I like more. P.S. Using somewhat less than crunchy nori is still okay for this recipe - a definite plus when trying to use up leftover nori from that sushi night a few weeks ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I have been making these for a while now ever since working with a Japanese fellow who's wife made these for his lunch. I became intrigued and asked him what they were and he explained and I had to try them so I went home and searched online for instructions. The only thing I do differently is use a different filling. I prefer Avocado or tuna salad in mine most of the time. Salmon is good as mentioned though as well. These are very cheap lunches and are the Japanese equivalent of a Sandwich culturally from what I understand. Very tasty! I always have a few in my fridge for a quick snack also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
we loved these! We put a small square of cucumber in ours! Loved them - I need to learn how to make a bento box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Your recipe was so simple and great! I LOVE onigiri and have to travel to San Francisco to buy them and I thought..well I can certainly try. Most other recipes online are omg complex but yours was excellent! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilith88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
makin this again today.. my toddler loves these.. and sushi.. XD but this is a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Easy and tasty recipe. I made half quantity, which still produced a good amount. I used 2 cups of rice and 2 1/2 cups of water. I seasoned with salt and put ume (Japanese pickled plum) in the center, then added black sesame seeds and nori to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I used other reviewer suggestions and mixed 1C vinegar/2 TBSP sugar mixture in with the rice before forming it as well as adding soya sauce to the bonito. I found the salt water mixture invaluable to keep the rice from sticking to my hands. At first, I just dipped my fingertips, but dipping my entire hand worked much better. Next time, I am going to try a salmon filling or pickled plums (umeboshi) on at least some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made this recipe for rice balls for my daughters international night. They turned out great! I made the mini balls and put canned salmon bits and spiced ginger in the center. I rolled them in black and white seseme seeds and put dried seaweed on others. The teens at the school loved them. I found great directions in the internet for rolling and twisting them in wet salted plastic wrap which took all the air out and made them nice and firm. (then take them out of the plastic wrap)The key is to always handle them with wet hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
A good friend of mine that I met through anime conventions years ago was having a graduation party, and I knew a bunch of the anime crew would be there, so I thought I would make something fun as a snack! I came across this recipe after watching Fruits Basket with a friend and we decided it would be perfect. Made the first few rice balls using the recipe as-is, though we couldn't find bonito flakes, so we used some tuna salad, chicken salad and avocado instead. After making some of the plain rice ones, we elyssa's advice and added some rice vinegar, sugar and salt to the rice. The smell kind of scared us at first, but after tasting them, we were glad we did it! Both versions of the recipe get five stars from everyone at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States