Onigiri - Japanese Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
very simple, i love making these either to snack on or for a dinner. my only change is i make a solution of white vinegar, about a cup, and 2 table spoons of sugar, and mix this with the rice before i begin. It adds just the right amount of flavor to the rice, so its not so over whelming. after adding the vinegar, just wet you hands and shape like always :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made this recipe for rice balls for my daughters international night. They turned out great! I made the mini balls and put canned salmon bits and spiced ginger in the center. I rolled them in black and white seseme seeds and put dried seaweed on others. The teens at the school loved them. I found great directions in the internet for rolling and twisting them in wet salted plastic wrap which took all the air out and made them nice and firm. (then take them out of the plastic wrap)The key is to always handle them with wet hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
A good friend of mine that I met through anime conventions years ago was having a graduation party, and I knew a bunch of the anime crew would be there, so I thought I would make something fun as a snack! I came across this recipe after watching Fruits Basket with a friend and we decided it would be perfect. Made the first few rice balls using the recipe as-is, though we couldn't find bonito flakes, so we used some tuna salad, chicken salad and avocado instead. After making some of the plain rice ones, we elyssa's advice and added some rice vinegar, sugar and salt to the rice. The smell kind of scared us at first, but after tasting them, we were glad we did it! Both versions of the recipe get five stars from everyone at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I am not a fan of bonito flakes but this is a great picnic food and you can put anything inside. In Japan they used tuna salad, salmon or pickled plum like they do in Japan Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I have been making these for a while now ever since working with a Japanese fellow who's wife made these for his lunch. I became intrigued and asked him what they were and he explained and I had to try them so I went home and searched online for instructions. The only thing I do differently is use a different filling. I prefer Avocado or tuna salad in mine most of the time. Salmon is good as mentioned though as well. These are very cheap lunches and are the Japanese equivalent of a Sandwich culturally from what I understand. Very tasty! I always have a few in my fridge for a quick snack also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this a few days ago while looking around the site. I finally decided I had to join so I can keep hold of this recipe. I don't care for bonito, so I used a spoonful of home made chicken salad. It was fantastic. And by following your recipe the rice turned out perfect, which is a new thing for me! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Thought everyone might want to know. When we make this (learned from my japanese mom), we put the bonito in the middle also. But, my mom puts soy sauce on the flakes first. It kind of melts down, but makes it easier to put in the middle and gives a nice salty kick. I can't imagine eating just plain flakes with out the soy on it. I've never seen it anywhere without the soy and bonito inside. Try some flaked salmon with soy also. That is how I've always seen it or bought in Japan. Also, most of the time she puts msg (or accent) on the outside or gives it a quick shake into the batch when shaping them. Actually, every one on my japanese side does it. I don't think that they has much of a problem with msg as they do here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
really great recipe..i used smoked salmon instead of bonito flakes in the center and it worked perfectly!! only problem was that this recipe calls for A LOT of rice and i made more than 8 and they were a lot bigger than the one in the picture i'd recommend halving the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sehlynah12
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was amasing! I added my picture of how they turned out! It was delicious! All my friends were jealous at how well they turned out! As my first Onigiri, I give this recipes 5 Stars! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sehlynah12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Prairie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Your recipe was so simple and great! I LOVE onigiri and have to travel to San Francisco to buy them and I thought..well I can certainly try. Most other recipes online are omg complex but yours was excellent! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilith88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States