One Two Three Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
For the dry/bland comments ... are y'all using RAW bulk breakfast sausage? The sausage should NOT be cooked before mixing into the other ingredients. The oil that cooks out of the sausage should keep the bread part of the mixture soft and moist and make it flavorful. You can always use 'hot' or 'sage' sausage to add more spice if the 'mild' is too blah ... or add a dash of cayenne pepper to the mix. Cooking time may need to be reduced ... just watch for golden brown cheese balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I made a version of this yesterday, but my version called for 2/3 c. milk, 2 c. biscuit mix, 1 lb. uncooked bulk pork sausage, and 10 oz. shredded cheddar. I think the addition of the milk (and maybe less biscuit mix) really helps. They disappeared fast and I had to give out the recipe right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I have been making this recipe for years for any party that we have. It is always a big hit and never lasts long. I use the sage sausage or special seasoning sausage to give it more flavor. My suggestion for those saying that they are dry is that you must be overcooking them. No one has ever complained about them being dry before. If you really want to kick the recipe up a notch make a batch of "hot" ones using the hot sausage and then a batch of mild using the sage. I like that this recipe can be made in advance and then cooked at the last minute. It makes planning a party much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dawson, Texas, USA
Living In: China Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
awesome and easy. i used a vegetarian sausage and found that if i added a little olive oil no one could tell the difference. a lifesaver recipe during the holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I cut the biscuit mix to 2.5 cups, and they turned out perfect. I think 3 cups might be just a bit too much. I absolutely couldn't get any more biscuit mix worked in (I was doing it by hand, though, so maybe with a stand mixer it's possible.) I added a little powdered garlic and paprika just to see how it would be -- SO GOOD! I think next time I'll use sage sausage. Anyway, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
MMMMM GOOD! My husbsand saw this recipe about a year ago and it's the only one we will use now! Instead of making one batch we always have to make several b/c they are the first things to be devoured at every party! We use the sage sausage... it adds a little kick to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
These are SOOOO easy! And they reheat with ease making them easy to prepare in advance and reheat for a party. Not the prettiest appetizer but a very popular one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
My mom used to make these for us as kids at Christmas time. It's been a long time since I've had them. Since I've moved out of state, and can't have Mama's sausage balls, I found this recipe, and tried it. I just made a batch for Christmas, but now have to go back to the store to get more ingredients. I've eaten almost all of what I just made. These are so easy to make and such little prep time is spent. Try these, you will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I made these for Thanksgiving but was a little disappointed. The flavor was only okay, nothing to write home about. Also, they were so heavy and rich as an appetizer that it either just spoiled or increased everyone's appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I made these for a holiday party. They were really tasty, though I think sage sausage might have been better. They were a teeny bit dry, but I made an apricot dipping sauce for them which made them awesome. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States