One Skillet Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I've made Corned Beef Hash this way for 40 years. My question, why the vinegar and the large amount of black pepper? This should be tasty, this should be just as good as mine. I'll have to try the vinegar and less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I disagree with anyone who said too much pepper and vinegar - its delicious as is. The pepper and vinegar add sweetness and spiciness to the already salty corned beef. I also used left over corned beef instead of canned. Yum, will make every St. Patty's Day with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
We found it overpowering on the cider vinegar but otherwise it was good. I have done better hash recipes so will continue to use those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I thought this was okay. I made it exactly as written. The potatoes I used were russets (?) from someone's garden, and I didn't know if they were the right kind of potatoes to use, but they came out fine. The cider vinegar was an interesting ingredient, but overall, I don't think I liked it all that much. This was the first time I'd ever made corned beef hash from scratch, and I've eaten better, but I'll give this a 4-star rating because it's fairly easy and it makes a large amount (lasting me for 3 large meals).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great recipe, we go camping a lot in the summer and I tried this for BF one morning with eggs and toast. Made it almost exactly (except there are only two of us so I halved it) as the recipe called except I didn't measure the pepper or the vinegar. It was very good and makes enough for two breakfasts! Great with soft eggs and toast!! Thank you very much - it's a keeper and will remain with my "regular camping recipes" forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I am not kidding! When I read this recipe I was eating canned corned beef and I keep tasting something that I couldn't put my finger on. It was vinegar....This recipe is good, just add some worcestshire sause and good to go...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
OK I know this is a bit over the top but... I had one thick slice of corned beef remaining. I used this recipe for the proportions (added shredded carrots for color/flavor) and made two little balls with a scoop, and put them on Asian ceramic soup spoons with a rosette of Dijon mustard and put it on each diner's plate as an "amuse-bouche" I had Kirs as the cocktail, and the salt and sweet combo was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was a good recipe. I was looking for a quick, easy corned beef hash recipe -- this was it! I actually made it a little EASIER. I had some leftover boiled red potatoes from my St. Patrick's Day corned beef. I figured why not dice them up (along with a few more that I quickly boiled in the pot after that meal was over) and see if I can do this a little more quickly and not have to really cook anything but the onions! My children were very suspicious about this "hash stuff" -- but once they took a bite, they were hooked! I did cut back on the vinegar (per other user's suggestions) and used my leftover corned beef (not canned). I also found that one big onion was sufficient. Overall, a very tasty meal to make with my leftovers! HURRAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Hirschler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
A very nice blend of flavors. I used personally smoked corned beef which really set it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States