One Pot Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This was just ok. Too many noodles for the tuna, soup, milk and cheese. If I make it again I will halve the noodles and use 2 cans of tuna and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I just have one comment for all the reviewers who couldn't resist adding a bunch of extra ingredients: "It's tuna casserole." If you feel like you need to power up the taste, then you obviously don't care for tuna casserole. No hard feelings, I'm just putting that out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winamoe

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I made this for dinner tonight and my casserole-loving guy raved over it. I had to give it 3 stars because of the changes I made. I used 16 oz. of egg noodles cooked in UNsalted water; 16 oz of Mixed frozen vegetables that I added during during the last 7 min of cooking. (I didn't thaw first). Drained the veggies and noodles, then added a can of mushroom soup And a can of cheddar cheese soup, plus a half cup sour cream instead of milk. I didn't add salt as there's enough in the condensed soups. I used garlic powder and onion powder and freshly ground pepper. Then I stirred in a half cup of hot cheddar cheese, with extra pepper flakes, I had on hand, after shredding it. We like our tuna to be chunky, so I gently folded in 3 Cans of tuna without breaking it up down too much. Then transferred the mixture to a casserole dish and sprinkled cracker crumbs on top and drizzled it with a half stick of melted butter. Baked in 375 degree oven until bubbling and browned. Gave me time to set the table and toss a salad. We will definitely add this to our favorite weeknight meal list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Instead of cream of mushroom soup try one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of cream of celery soup. We sometimes just use the cream of celery. Celery and tuna have an affinity for one another that mushrooms and tuna do not. I put tuna in bottom of microwaveable casserole dish, layer noodles, soup and cheddar cheese on top of the tuna, put a layer of cheese on top and pour milk on top of the cheese. Microwave on 60 (bake) for 8-12 minutes depending on your microwave or until the cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I modified it. For one, as written above with milk, the problem of dryness is solved. However, with just 1 can of soup, the milk just increases the blandness. So, to combat the dryness problem I added a can of Cream of Celery Soup too! (Came out about 2 years after the Mushroom variety). Fantastic flavor adjustment!!! After the first time I served it, my husband (a huge meat & potatoes man) actually liked it, and asked if we could have again, BUT(!!!) "could you put a little MEAT or more tuna in it?"! Think about it, you have 8 servings, which amounts to less than 1 oz. of protein per person even with cheese added! So, I tripled the number of 6 oz. cans, of Tuna, now I simply buy larger cans of tuna. If I serve this at a potluck, for instance, everyone wants the "recipe"!!! Oh, another trick I learned, about 5-7 minutes before your pasta is cooked, throw in the UN-thawed peas, & they impart a bit of flavor into the pasta! HTH!!! Blessings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Good , simple .... ate a lot of this 40 years ago ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I make this recipe all the time , only change I make is I use cream of celery soup I don't like canned mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Not liking fish at all I swap out the small 5 oz can of tuna for a 12.5 oz can of chicken or use about 2 cups of shredded rotisserie chicken, use 1 lb of peas and carrots or sometimes broccoli, black pepper to taste, use cream of whatever type soup I like, swap out the milk for 50/50 for extra richness, add diced onion and celery and about 1/4 tsp of fresh thyme leaves, 2 cloves of minced garlic and a drizzle of white wine. I have used coconut milk and curry pwd also if I want to take it in that direction. Or for a Mexican flair I use a 15.5 oz can of whole kernel corn drained, ground cumin, chili pwd and minced garlic to taste along with a can of diced fire roasted green chilies and a couple of minced Serrano chilies seeds and all. And however I make it I always double the cheese to 2 cups and bake it in the oven adding the second cup of cheese to the top and let it bake an additional 10 mins. Realistically this makes enough for the 2 of us to have 2 nights in a row. Yes the portions are large but that's just how we like to eat and we're not big people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I think the whole point of PREFERED1's recipe was that it's "stove top" not "baked". I've done the stove top many times and tried the oven once and saw no real point in messing up another dish! I like stove top just fine thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Harvey
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I've made this its awesome especially when you have to feed a hungry 9 year old and a teenager! Also how can I make this without cream of mushroom soup? I have canned mushrooms and milk but no cream of mushroom?? I am making this tonight for five we have a guest tonight people. Also I use regular spiral colored noodles and I put a little onion powder in it its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States