One Pot Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Good as tuna Casserole can get. As others said very economical. I sauted 1/2 an onion, 1/2 c. celery chopped and about 1/2 tsp. garlic. Then added it to the casserole as I thought it was bland without. I also decreased the noodles to 10 oz. and added a 2nd can of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Had to make a lot of adjustments to make this one a keeper, so only 3 stars. Used less noodles, 3 cans of tuna, 1 cup sour cream instead of milk, 1 1/2 cups cheddar, 1 tsp. garlic powder, a dash of worcestershire sauce, a jar of mushrooms (fresh would have been better), and baked the mixture at 375 for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This was great. I did change it a little tho.......I added about 2 tsp. cayenne, used a little more milk than called for, and only about 2/3 of the package of noodles. I also added some onion powder, garlic, mushrooms, and a little finely diced red onion. While I was cooking the pasta, I added the butter, peas, onion, and mushrooms to a pot and simmered. Then I added the cream of mushroom soup, milk, cheese, and seasonings. I simmered this while I was finishing up the noodles. Once the noodles were done, I added them, and simmered it all for a few. Then I put it in a casserole dish, sprinkled the top w/a little more cheddar, and some italian breadcrumbs, and broiled until brown. It was an awesome tuna casserole for someone who likes things w/a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Used this as a base and tweaked like a few other reviewers. Added some worchestershire, paprika, garlic salt and onion powder. I added an additional can of tuna and an additional cup of cheese. Very cheesy and creamy sauce. Also topped with bread crumbs and a little butter and baked for 30 in a 350 oven. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Here are my changes, similar to other reviewers: -Add one more can of tuna -Use the sharpest cheese possible -Add at least one tablespoon worcestire -Spice with salt, pepper, cayenne (A LOT), and paprika -Use a 16oz bag of vegetables (make sure to adjust cooking time to compensate) -Double the milk to make the sauce more creamy The result: 4 meals that I take to work during the week for lunch. This saves me quite a bit of money. All from one pot! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Made this last night and it was great!! I love to cook - but sometimes no time to get fancy. This was filling and very tasty. I altered things slightly: 16oz egg noddle, 1 can mushrm soup, 2 cans of tuna, 1 cup sour cream (to replace the milk), 1-1/2 cups fresh shredded cheddar, can baby peas, tsp garlic powder and dash of worchester. The best was the finale!! Covered top with crunched up Cheez-Its crackers and baked about 10-15 minutes. Small green salad on the side!! GREAT weekday supper! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
Not bad....improved greatly for me when I cut way back on the noodles, added extra cheese and milk, and doubled the tuna. Sprinkling onion-ring toppers on it and crisping it all up in the oven didn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
We first tried this recipe when we were starving... so we were obviously going to be hard critics. We changed recipe slightly, adding 2 cans of tuna, 2 cups mixed veggies (- lima beans) a little less cheese. Also we used rotini and egg noodles... VERY YUMMY.. we will make it again..next time we will add sour cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I am a "new" cook and this recipe turned out fantastic. I really got raves on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I only made one change and that was using frozen broccoli instead of peas. I think this could be better--the kids thought it was okay but my husband and I didn't like it at all. I think the butter could be cut back and it could use a little more milk, another can of tuna as well as some sauteed onion and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States