One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
UPDATE: Made again with 5 teaspoons salt instead (could still almost use a bit less)- turned out great. Again, just used the food processor and added water until I got the consistency I wanted. Makes quite a lot so I separated into containers and froze some. Was excellent for adding to a quesadilla - lots of versatility and were delicious. With the change to these modifications I now give it 5 stars. This has potential to be a great recipe but TELL me the salt content was a typo? I followed the recipe exactly trusting that 5TBsp salt would somehow mellow out in the beans. It did not. They were WAY too salty and we could not eat them. However, the overall flavor (minus the salt) was great! I did find though that a potato masher was not great for getting them to a creamy consistency, I put them through my food processor and added more water until they were the consistency I was looking for. Next time will try with 5 teaspoons of salt maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Not only was this super easer, but really good. I probably only used about 2 tsp of salt for the whole pot. I didn't even bother mashing them, just served them as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmy Cole's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Great recipe and super easy, I had everything in my cupboards! The recipe calls for way too much salt (come on... 5 TABLESPOONS?! You're kidding right?) so I added about 3 tsp and that was perfect. Next time, I will use 1 Tablespoon of pepper instead of 2; there was too much pepper flavor. I used the Crock Pot to cook this. Cooking on High for about 4 hours should work. Just make sure to check water level constantly, as it dries up much faster than on the stove. I think I ended up using 10 cups of water total, and it was deliscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I tasted these beans after mashing and decided they were already so delicious, why add the mozzarella & pico de gallo? I halved the recipe, added a chicken bouillon cube, just added salt to taste, and mashed coursely with a potato masher. They still had lots of texutre, but were thick & creamy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These are absolutely declicious - after soaking the beans overnight, which I'd done before finding this recipe, I let mine cook all day in the crockpot and came home to the MOST delicious smell!! They're terrific and I'll bet they'd be good on tortillas, too! Love them thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very qiuck and easy. Also very economical!!! My family loves it. Thank you. We like ours spicy so I add Cayenne pepper or chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This were so good! I followed others suggestions and added a lot less salt. We used left overs the next day by spreading the beans inside a tortilla and adding cheese and home made pico de gallo (use the recipe from this site "Chef Scott's Pico de Gallo). I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I loved this! I add some cayenne pepeer- just a little to this. I also cut up some red chilli- also, just a little. What can I say, I like heat! Either way, loved this! Also, used yellow onion since I didn't have any red on hand. I also used none of the optional ingredients. Oh, and I also made a much smaller amount; enough for 1 person since I was only feeding myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
awesome beans! restaurant quality! my new favorite pinto bean recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this recipe. I did however cut back on the salt and red pepper flakes. I use 2 Tablespoons salt and 1 T red pepper flakes. This works best for my family. I did also add the mozzarella cheese. To me this make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States