One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Just like momma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda_wlu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I think the recipe has changed since I made it because it called for so much salt; I had to throw the whole pot away! The second time around I only used a pinch, plus pepper and chili flakes and it turned out great! Great recipe and good for a budget and health conscious family! Makes a lot! And fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieLouLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
yum! i have had these beans lying around and i didn´t think i would end up making something so delicious out of them. i used less than 2lbs of beans but added the same amount of seasoning. i used 2 chicken broth cubes so I didn´t add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The amount of salt in this recipe has been corrected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Left them whole (didn't mash) ---- and definitely didn't use THAT much salt.....as a matter of fact, if you use the chicken broth, that is plenty of salt there. I used some beef broth I had saved from cooking a pot roast in the crockpot the day before. Soaked overnight, and left in crockpot to cook all day on LOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
1 TBSP Salt is adequate. I also add 1/2 lb of bacon. The best beans ever!!! Also I have never gotten to the "add cheese and pico part" just fine without as well. @ TBSP Pepper since they removed that from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good. Of course, I used much less salt: 2 tbs. But that was even too much. Next time I will use just 1 tbs. It was also a little spicy for my kids, so I will use less red pepper next time. We just ate the beans straight from the slow cooker sprinkled with a little cheddar. Made a yummy, cheap dinner, and I will freeze the rest of the beans for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this recipe. I did however cut back on the salt and red pepper flakes. I use 2 Tablespoons salt and 1 T red pepper flakes. This works best for my family. I did also add the mozzarella cheese. To me this make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States